Service Tire Monitor - Reset procedure? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 09:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
 
Service Tire Monitor - Reset procedure?

Hi All,

I need to reset the TPMS on my wife's 08 G6. We do not have keyless entry, and the procedure for resetting the system in the owners manual says

Quote:
TPMS Matching Process for Vehicles
without Remote Keyless Entry (RKE)
1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition switch to ON/RUN with the
engine off.
3. Using the Driver Information Center (DIC), press
the INFO and Set/Reset buttons at the same time
for about one second. Then press and release
the INFO button until the TIRE LEARN? message
displays.
Sadly, the "Set/Reset" button is not found anywhere else in the owner's manual, and I tried combining with other buttons on the dash. Any thoughts?
jdt141 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
 
Smile

anyone??? anyone??? bueller???
jdt141 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
the 'set/reset' button is the bottom left button that is an arrow pointing left.

When I did mine I had to press the unlock and lock buttons at the same time with the key in the on position. horn chirped and your on you way

lets us know

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2011, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portage, MI
Age: 26
Posts: 638
 
if its like the monsoon radio in my 08 GT and 09 GXP the "reset" button is the one used to set everything to zero (trip miles fuel econ avg mph etc) and is the button with the "enter arrow" on it

2008 Pontiac G6 GT Dark Gray Metalic
Bought Feb 28 2009 with 24k miles now has 130k miles RIP Baby death snowplow 1-30-11
http://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/8-members-rides/4757-brians-g6.html

Carbon Black Metalic 2009 G6 GXP Coupe
Bought Oct 8 2010 with 35 miles

Mods so far: every single performance mod and a whole lot more, fastest NA G6
http://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/8-members-rides/7974-brians-new-carbon-black-metalic-09-g6-gxp-coupe.html

1/4 mile: 13.17@ 109.23

Performance Red Metalic 2009 G6 GXP coupe
bought june 29 2012 with 3400 miles

Mods: RACE CAR- full race fuel setup and in the process of converting to RWD with a 6spd manual trans
http://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=13140
1/4 mile: 14.20@ 101.95
SexyG6 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2011, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 62
 
the arrow is the the return symbol from back when you had to return a typewriter's carriage..... not to get to far off topic. But most people now associate that with enter.

We are the knights of the round table, we dance when we are able.
Kniggit is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 08:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
 
INFO set/reset buttons tpms relearn

I tried everything including the set/res buttons on the steering wheel. Nothing seems to trigger my tire learn mode. I already went to the owners manual and it says to (step 3) press the INFO and Set/Reset buttons at the same time for about one second. Then press and release the INFO button until the TIRE LEARN? message displays.

step 4. Press and hold the Set/Reset DIC button for approximately three seconds to start ethe TPMS learn mode.

That 4th step is when the TIRE LEARN? message appears, but i cant get that message to come on. I have a 08 G6 2.4l i dont have the keyless fob entry so thats not an option. There has got to be a way. Any thoughts? Help is much appreciated.
elitewings is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 03:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 54
Posts: 11
 
If you have remote keyless entry, press the lock and unlock buttons on your remote at the same time until your horn chirps twice. Then it's a fairly long process, but an easy one.

First: Make sure you're near a air compressor.

Second: After the horn chips, go to the driver's side front tire and press the valve stem to release air from the tire until the horn beeps. This could take anywhere from ten to thirty seconds.

Third: Repeat above step on the Passenger's side Front, then Passenger's side Rear, then Driver's side Rear, in that order. The horn should chirp twice again, this signifies the learning is complete.

Last step: Re-inflate your tires to the recommended pressure and then remove the keys.

I hope this helps
TheAlien is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-14-2014, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mshinall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NoVA
Posts: 636
 
This process is really easy. Done it several times myself. Is pretty much a must after tire rotation. Another cool thing is that only the corner light for the tire you're checking is lit as you move around the car. Helps keep you in the right order.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

2009 Techno Gray Metallic G6 GXP Sedan (3.6L Auto6 112K miles)
---
CRAB Intake Opt 3 w/FPU, Lloyds GXP floor mats, HIDs low 6000k 55w/fog 3000k 35w, LED DRLs behind lower grills, V3 Triton LED turn signal/reverse/brake, LED side markers/maps/dome/tag/trunk/high mount stop, 2 coats niteshades on tails, Tint 35% all around, Debadged (except arrows), PAC IPod and BT adapters, PowerStop D/S rotors and ceramic pads, Resonator repl w/24" cherry bomb, Racingline STB, Big 3 Upgrade, Optima Yellowtop D75/25, Blacked out arrows, chrome window trim and black dipped wheels, KYB struts and shocks, CM lowering springs, Cherry Bomb Vortex Crossflow muffler, 2.5" pipe from axle back, two 4" stainless double walled slant tips
...still working...
mshinall is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2015, 05:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
 
My car was fine but I took it to a local Pontiac dealership for a recall. Well one of my tire sensors were bad. So it read -- on the display. Well they checked it and then all said --. I replaced the broken one. I programmed them and it went fine but all still say -- .

What's the deal? How can I fix this myself?
PontiacG62008 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2015, 05:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
 
I used this instructions from my manual:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1440287394473.jpg
Views:	2009
Size:	68.5 KB
ID:	10633   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1440287408205.jpg
Views:	1863
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	10641  
PontiacG62008 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 05:51 AM
Member
 
tireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 141
 
just take it to your local tire dealer and have them reset it, takes a matter of seconds
tireguy is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 12:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tireguy View Post
just take it to your local tire dealer and have them reset it, takes a matter of seconds

I went to my local tire shop and they said they would reset them the same way I did. Any other ideas?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PontiacG62008 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
opps oil reset testertester811 General Maintenance 4 12-28-2012 06:49 AM
SVC Tire Monitor? Mr Funkhouser Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 10 11-29-2011 07:10 PM
How to reset mpg monitor paramount Problems and Solutions 4 06-03-2010 11:26 AM
tire pressure monitor shows incorrect tire location rocr62 Problems and Solutions 3 01-06-2010 08:54 AM
Improve Throttle Response With the "Procedure" mjgonegm Powertrain Performance Modifications 22 06-30-2009 12:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome