Remote Keyless Entry Battery Replacement and Programming - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-10-2008, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
CharlesP2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Age: 30
Posts: 61
 
Send a message via AIM to CharlesP2009 Send a message via Yahoo to CharlesP2009
Remote Keyless Entry Battery Replacement and Programming

I recently had the battery in my one and only keyless entry remote die and didn't replace it for about a week. When I did pop in a new battery I found that the remote didn't work anymore and I figured it got fried (one of the guides included with my car said touching the circuit board could damage it).

So, I headed to the dealership from where I bought my car and asked for a replacement remote since they only gave me one when I bought the car. They happily agreed to give me a brand new free one after some prodding and I was thrilled with that. While the technician was programming the new remote he tried out my old one and got it working too! He said it lost its programming.

So, my question to all of you folks out there. Do our remotes always lose their programming after a battery dies? Or is mine unique since it's got the remote start feature?

Also, when I was forced to use the key to unlock the car I always set off the alarm upon opening the door. I tried both passive security and RKE security but neither did the trick. Am I missing something or are our cars just tough on security?
CharlesP2009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-23-2009, 09:42 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
 
The remote that came w/ my 06 GT (purchased last week) didn't work at all. After thinking about it, I suspect the remotes are NOT "re-programmed", they are what they are from the factory. But the receiver in the vehicle is "re-programmed" to your remote.
I took the car and remote to a buddy that works @ a Buick shop. He hooked-up the diag computer and reprogrammed the vehicle in a couple of minutes.
05Glide is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-23-2009, 04:02 PM
o6g6 gottastart somewhere
 
ThaTchetguitarplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: K-vegas
Age: 35
Posts: 45
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesP2009 View Post
I recently had the battery in my one and only keyless entry remote die and didn't replace it for about a week. When I did pop in a new battery I found that the remote didn't work anymore and I figured it got fried (one of the guides included with my car said touching the circuit board could damage it).

So, I headed to the dealership from where I bought my car and asked for a replacement remote since they only gave me one when I bought the car. They happily agreed to give me a brand new free one after some prodding and I was thrilled with that. While the technician was programming the new remote he tried out my old one and got it working too! He said it lost its programming.

So, my question to all of you folks out there. Do our remotes always lose their programming after a battery dies? Or is mine unique since it's got the remote start feature?

Also, when I was forced to use the key to unlock the car I always set off the alarm upon opening the door. I tried both passive security and RKE security but neither did the trick. Am I missing something or are our cars just tough on security?
no i think they are all like that... about a month ago my did the samething and they are really delicate.... i changed my battery and the clip that holds the battery broke off.... but thank god i have a friend that works for a gm garage and he gave me 6 key fobs and programmed all of them to my car so i dont have to worry about those anymore
plus i think the g6s have a delay lock operation so you dont have to hold down the button for a short period of time

g6s kicka$$ like schecter guitars
ThaTchetguitarplayer is offline  
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-02-2009, 10:20 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
 
If your car is under warranty the dealer will replace the battery. Yes it is covered under the warranty. I was suprised. My remote would work intermittantly. so I figured it was the battery, I popped it opened and the battery clip was no longer soldiered to the circuit board. If this is happening to alot of people then it is a bad part. If the clip is soldiered correctly there is no way it should come loss. Anyway my dealer tried to tell me since I open it, GM may not cover it.
a1606myrsclm is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 04-06-2010, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wayne NJ
Posts: 64
 
Or you can do what I did and buy $6 electronic sodder/weld and a soddering iron for $15 bucks.

I didn't feel like blowing $30 per key fob on ebay(need 2), and both of mine busted at the same time(yay poor quality). Basically the battery retention clip breaks off the PCB(circuit board).

I weighed the clip down so it sits flush and is in the weld hole where it is supposed to be, heated up the weld/sodder and used a pick to push the sodder over the broken area and voila fixed!. Both my key fobs work now and I saved myself lots of money. Took 10 minutes and it was my first time doing it too.
saberz is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 07:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
 
I've had the battery clip break on two different remotes for my G6. The first one was covered under the warranty, but I had to pay for the second one out of pocket. And they are expensive, and of course you have to have the dealership do the programming. Ugh.
kismet831 is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 05:06 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
 
FYI,
The remote stopped working but ONLY to "unlock" the doors.
I took the fob apart, cleaned the circuit board fingers and lightly cleaned the switch membrane with a cotton swab, it started working again.
And as with everyone else, the battery clip was starting to break loose. A solder iron and and solder took care of that.
05Glide is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 12-19-2010, 12:41 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
 
Just wanted to pop in and give my thanks. My remote entry and remote start were working intermittently for the past few months. Thinking it was the battery I replaced the battery and still had the problem, cleaned the contacts and still had the problem. Then I found this thread, checked the soldered contacts and sure enough both of them were quite loose. Re-soldered and all is well!! Thanks guys!!!!
Copgtp is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 12:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
 
anyone know what group the battery in a 06 g6 3.5l v6 is? looking to get a new battery to help my car audio system which in total is taking 3440w rms anyone know or have a good battery i should buy?im getting a new alternator too which is 350amps.
baseball9734 is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 09:31 PM
Member
 
davez26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
 
All True...

I work for a dealer, (not GM), and all of this works.
*I've seen batteries die, and the car loses programming for some reason, it seems to be if it has been dead a while. I never put a lot of thought to it until now, I wonder if it's a rolling code type of thing? But yeah, the car is programmed, not the remote. Typically, to add a remote, you need to have both present, because the car gets wiped, and we are basically telling it to only listen to the remotes it 'hears' in the next session.
*Batteries - I always make sure the customer is present when replacing batteries. You only make that mistake once. When you carefully open a remote, you have them watch, closely, so if anything is loose in there, it isn't my fault.
*Cleaning the internals. If we put in a battery, and it has a button problem, and they are game, i will tear one down and clean the boards and contacts with rubbing alcohol and q-tips. Works nearly every time. I had a dead one from a Jaguar -it got washed- and it was all stained and nasty and dead. After about 30 minutes of cleaning, it was good to go!
*Batteries, - just pop it open and buy something with a name you have heard before.
davez26 is offline  
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 03:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
 
I wish, I had found this thread sooner. My original fob now works after following the advice that was given.

Of course this is after I ended up buying new ones for my car (one as a spare) for my car for around $100, from keyless-remotes.com. They work great and were the cheapest price I could find that wasn't on ebay.

If only I saw this information a little sooner, since they have a 30 day money back return policy which I just missed by two weeks

Last edited by LBaker; 11-25-2011 at 03:37 PM.
LBaker is offline  
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 10:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
 
Angry keyless entry/remote start

I have a factory installed keyless entry/remote start in my 05 g6. a few months ago the key fob stopped unlocking the doors or use the remote start but would pop the trunk . finally it completely gave out. the dealership tried to reprogram with no success...$150 later i had a new working key fob. three weeks later and a freak october snow storm my key fob was dead again. the dealership wont cover the fob under warranty (even though it was less than a month old) because i didnt save my receipt. finally after raising a stink in the dealership they offered to run a diagnostic test on my car for $110 and said if they find that the keyless entry module is defective theyll refund my $150 for the key fob. Well im not paying 110 dollars to get back 150 dollars...but has anyone else had this problem...or not how i can find out what isnt working. its getting colder faster and longer now and i hate having to sit in my car for ten minutes defrosting windows...or setting off the alarm just to get in my own car.

any suggesstions as to what i can do without having to pay another arm and a leg for this car?
cindyp1987 is offline  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012, 07:03 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
 
Is there anyway to manually program a remote i have a 2008 g6 and got a remote from a friend who didnt need it. I believe he had a 2006 or so.
Trevor_Scott is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 09:11 PM
2008 G6
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
 
no there is no way to program your remote by yourself. i have a 2008 G6 as well and i tried everything. then i found out that you have to take your car to a GM dealer and they will program it for you.
lj_wierenga is offline  
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 04-14-2012, 11:50 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
 
Just wondering... Does the procedure on here work to program a new remote?

http://www.ehow.com/how_5032885_prog...ontiac-g6.html
timmmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > General Maintenance

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome