Onstar Location - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
SteelerNation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kansas City
Age: 33
Posts: 5
 
Onstar Location

Is anyone familiar with the location of the Onstar unit is? I haven't had any luck searching online or time to take anything apart, but i'm hoping its in the trunk and not the dash
SteelerNation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2006, 03:40 AM
A two-G6 family!
 
ragingfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 169
 
Send a message via AIM to ragingfish Send a message via MSN to ragingfish Send a message via Yahoo to ragingfish
I believe it's somewhere in the trunk...
ragingfish is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2006, 10:09 AM
AZZKICKER
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
 
Thumbs down I know

USTFUUSMFDSB

SerNorZ is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2006, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelerNation
Is anyone familiar with the location of the Onstar unit is? I haven't had any luck searching online or time to take anything apart, but i'm hoping its in the trunk and not the dash
The electronic module for OnStar is located in the dash outboard of the glovebox.

Open glovebox, "flop" the glovebox down (if you don't know how to do it press in on each side of back of glovebox) and then look on right side and you will see it.
e2helper is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
SteelerNation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kansas City
Age: 33
Posts: 5
 
Great I found it. Seems they had the unit in the trunks of early 2000 grandams but decided to wedge it way deep into the dash behind the glove compartment.

I read up a few places where people had taken out their Analog OnStar boxes (i think these are standard in 2005's but Digitals in 2006), soldered a serial cable and using Motorola OnCore software to change it to NMEA mode were able to use the gps transmitter connected to a laptop with Streets and Trips or any other program that supports a GPS transmitter.

Since onstar will discontinue use of the Analog boxes in 2007; they will replace the analog box with a digital one for "Free" (Free = signing up for at least 3 straight years of service at the time of the swap). One of the only bonuses i can see with the Digital boxes is that if you are a Verizon customer, you can add the OnStar phone for 10 dollars to your "family plan" ... phones that will all pull from your pool of minutes.

I never used onstar other than setting it up and don't really see the bonus of paying 225 bucks a year for something AAA can do for 50 (even though you actually have to pick up the phone and call them). Regardless, after the free year is up, why not take advantage of the really expensive GPS stuff in your car (you paid for it!)

An Online Guide to getting to the RS232 Serial Data from your OnStar GPS in NMEA format.: http://members.cox.net/onstar/

I haven't done this, has anyone tried this experiment?
SteelerNation is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 01:51 PM
Former G6 Guy
 
bigbengt67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 557
 
Send a message via AIM to bigbengt67
Other than the power pedals, OnStar is dumbest feature on my car... No wonder they came packaged together.
bigbengt67 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Indianapolis
Age: 31
Posts: 109
 
Send a message via AIM to branderson
You never know how good Onstar is until you or someone you know gets into a bad accident and has it....
branderson is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-06-2006, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
SteelerNation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kansas City
Age: 33
Posts: 5
 
soldering the serial cable won't disable the onstar ... it will just let your PDA/Laptop communicate with the OnCore transmitter.

2 questions:
Anybody have detailed instructions on taking apart the dash (or any other way of getting the onstar unit out)?
Anyone have success with this?
SteelerNation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome