Where do you run your power wire. - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 09:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky.
Age: 26
Posts: 17
 
Where do you run your power wire.

Was wondering how anyone has ran their power wire for an amp. Really don't want to run it under the can and drilling a hole in the firewall is also not a best option but will do if there is no other way to do it. Also where have you mounted the amp? thx to all
Dragon12579 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2010, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Adam R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Age: 25
Posts: 99
 
The only way how I would do it is going through the fire wall, its easy, and doesnt do any damage

G6 3.5L: White
Mods: Tint 3% back, 35% front, 2 Alpine Type R12, Alpine MRP-M1000 , cobra radar detector, Tinted Tails and 3rd Brake Light, 6000K H.I.D.'s, red interior l.e.d., white l.e.d. grille light, 2 white l.e.d. front bumper painted grille.
Adam R is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2010, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky.
Age: 26
Posts: 17
 
yha but did you use an existing hole to run it as i cannot find a hole to run it through.
Dragon12579 is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-09-2010, 05:38 PM
Heavy Modder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 27
Posts: 18
 
what i did was run it through the driverside fender, if you take of the 3 botls on top and one in the doorjam you can slip it through and run it past your seats, i can only see the wire when the door is open.
GAME OVER IX is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-09-2010, 09:32 PM
2006 Black G6 GT
 
Ensur3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Troy, MI USA
Posts: 395
 
I put it thru my firewall safely without any leaks or anything. Just cut a hole big enough for your wire.

2006 G6 GT
Mods so far: Black arrow overlays, Chrome recessed grilles, Blue LED license plate light, Blue LED reverse lights, Smoked tails, 20% Tint all around, Red led's for the interior, White led dome and map lights.
Sound System: 4 Infinity Kappa component speakers, 2 Amps (950w total) and 2 10" Kenwood KFC subwoofers, 7" touch screen Pioneer DVD

Performance: Mobile 1 oil, Mobile 1 oil filter
Ensur3 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: dayton oh
Age: 39
Posts: 433
 
i ran my 0 gauge thur my firewall i just follow the hood latch cable

05 G6


ipad mini install


Gametag psn=getonerd 360=geronerd
getonerd is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-15-2010, 11:29 AM
Really Fast Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 35
 
There is a grommet already through the firewall, but it is difficult to reach as it is behind the dash on the drivers side and you can barely reach it with your hand, and it is behind the master cylinder on the other side, so reaching it was a problem for me (plus I am too lazy.) So I found a spot on the firewall just below the steering column, if you feel around you feel a hole with flaps on it (rubbery material) that is where I drilled a hole through the firewall than sealed it up after running the wire through.

Silver Bullet GTP
Corey is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-2010, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: dayton oh
Age: 39
Posts: 433
 
first you neea 7mm socket to remove the bottom part of the dash on the drivers side then folloow the hood release cable and then with an flat head screw driver pop out that grommet out

05 G6


ipad mini install


Gametag psn=getonerd 360=geronerd
getonerd is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-20-2010, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
CarGuy1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
 
I ran 0Gauge through my firewall. I used a step drill and if your car is an automatic there is a perfect place where the clutch would go if it were a manual. Drill there. RUn your wire. DO NOT DO NOT run it through the door jam, that wire can get pinched and will cause a fire. I do isntalls for a living and see cars all the time coming with wires ran and we cannot work on their cars until we charge them to fix it. It is a fire hazard and most of all, Do you want 12v grounding out to the body of your car which is used as a ground for your alternator and starter, etc etc. The wire gets one sparks, POOF! Bye bye half of engine and data bus system, and fried computer. You choose.

Ill post pics here soon where mine is! Good luck!

2005 White G6 GT Monsoon Leather Sunroof Heated Seats
5% Tint all around Chrome Grilles Tinted Tailights Tinted Headlights 21LED Reverse Light Kicker 1500.1 2Kicker 12" L7's 0gauge Kicker Multi Amp Kit 40 Farad Tsunami Capacitor Kenwood Excelon KDC-X9533U 300AmpAnl Fuse Custom Box Python 990 Alarm with window mods glass break sensor
CarGuy1989 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-24-2010, 08:05 AM
Young Punk
 
StaindFaith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 26
Posts: 76
 
I ran mine up behind the driver's side quarter panel, just below the windsheild, where the hinge for the hood is. From there it came out through the doorframe of the driver's door. There's a little rubber plug on the driver's side window pillar (you'll see what I mean if you open your driver's door and look just above where the top of the dash is on the doorframe) I popped that outand popped the sidecover off of the dash (not the top or bottom, the little on that you can only see when the door is open) (don't worry, there's no screws, it's held in with clips(I used a flathead screwdriver to pop it off). From there I fed the wire through the hole where the rubber plug was, into the area I uncovered by pulling off the sidecover of the dash, then ran the cable down the side of the driver's footwell, and underneath the plastic runners along the inside of the car and into the trunk. If you're using a fairly heavy gauge cable, you might need to bore out the hole that you pull the rubber plug out of, but aside from that, no drilling required.

I'll try to get some pictures today when I actually get my lazy ass out of bed.
Best of luck.

In nomine Patris, et Filii, et Spiritus Sancti. Amen.
StaindFaith is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-2013, 07:40 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
 
Re: Where do you run your power wire.

I posted a how to in the audio section with pics

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using AutoGuide.Com Free App
davidjmorin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What color is the wipers wire? Ensur3 Problems and Solutions 2 09-01-2009 01:34 PM
My Grand AM GT (56k Run and Hide) cole454 Members Other Rides 9 11-17-2006 01:03 PM
*56K run and hide* I Think its time I start whoring up these forums as well :D DontPassTheFence Members Other Rides 10 11-16-2006 01:05 PM
Which dyno run should I do? Explr1 Powertrain Performance Modifications 7 01-09-2006 03:34 PM
Hit and run! Rear ended! derby Problems and Solutions 2 12-20-2004 08:34 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome