Aux-in for stock headunits! how-to guide for G6 - Pontiac G6 Forum
Pontiac G6 Forum Pontiac G6 Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery Garage Blogs Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

G6OwnersClub.com is the premier Pontiac G6 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2009, 09:43 PM   #1
luckyedboy66
Lead Foot
 
luckyedboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AlAbAmA
Posts: 67
Gallery: 3
luckyedboy66 is on a distinguished road
Aux-in for stock headunits! how-to guide for G6

G6 owners rejoice! I found a cheap way to add a quality auxiliary input to a stock G6 headunit! I bought and installed a
Scosche wired FM modulator Scosche wired FM modulator
and it works great! Basically you plug youre car's antenna into the Modulator, and the modulator into the headunit. Because it is hardwired, it allows for much better sound quality than a wireless transmitter. It isnt quite cd quality, but its pretty good considering the price.

How-To:

Several People expressed interest in the modulator, so i figured a how-to guide for the G6 couldnt hurt. First off, along with the modulator unit, G6 owners will need antenna adapters because GM vehicles use a micro antenna fitting (
here is a link to the ones i got here is a link to the ones i got
). You will need to remove a good portion of the dash to get at the back of the radio, so http://www.g6performance.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=5991 is an excellent tutorial (its a life saver).

After the dash is opened up, find a suitable place to install the modulator. I used double sided tape to stick it in with the fuse box (below and right of the radio). After the modulator is mounted, run the antenna hook-ups behind the radio, hook the modulator into the antenna and headunit using the adapters. Tuck the wires down behind the radio - dont worry, theres plenty of space.

You can see in the picture below were I located everything, and how I wired the power.
In the G6, the fusebox is located conveniently close to the radio, so running the wiring was a breeze.

Now connect the black wire to the frame (see above, bottom right), [edit] and tap (or tuck under) the red wire to the A/C fuse so that it will cut power when the ignition is off. The modulator comes with a 2 amp inline fuse so you dont have to worry about burning it up.

Now that the antenna and power is hooked up you need to find a spot for the power switch and 1/8" mini plug. The unit comes with a nice little housing that can be stuck in a good location, but i wanted to hide mine, so i installed the power and mini plug in the top of the cubby just below the A/C controls.





Now youre pretty much done, but before putting the dash back together, test the system to make sure it works! The modulator can be set to broadcast on 87.9 and 88.1 FM (if i remember right), so pick whichever you want to set the radio to. After youre satisfied that everything works, put the dash back together and youre done! Here are some more pics of the modulator and my finished product.


Thanks for reading ! Let me know what you think and dont hesitate to ask questions if I didnt explain things well enough

EDIT: I found that I was getting some interference when I cranked up the A/C. I looked an noticed that I had the wiring routed up against the A/C electric fan housing (behind the head unit), so I rerouted the wiring further away from it and the audio is clear.
__________________
The Auto: Graphite G6 Sedan
Engine: 3.5L V6
Mods: Red Caliper Paint, Window Tint (more to come, but on a college kid's budget)

Last edited by luckyedboy66; 12-18-2010 at 09:39 PM. Reason: Fixed link, etc.
luckyedboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2009, 04:21 PM   #2
almonteb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Gallery: 0
almonteb is on a distinguished road
Just ordered all the parts, should have them this week!

I was just wondering, what is the easiest way to pull off the dash around the deck?

Thanks
almonteb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 04:27 AM   #3
Lampoon
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,105
Gallery: 40
Lampoon is just really niceLampoon is just really niceLampoon is just really niceLampoon is just really nice
FM modulation...?

How much are all the parts?
__________________
MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 07:45 AM   #4
luckyedboy66
Lead Foot
 
luckyedboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AlAbAmA
Posts: 67
Gallery: 3
luckyedboy66 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by almonteb View Post
Just ordered all the parts, should have them this week!

I was just wondering, what is the easiest way to pull off the dash around the deck?

Thanks
here is the how-to guide i used in removing my dash - it was a life saver! http://www.g6performance.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=5991

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lampoon View Post
FM modulation...?

How much are all the parts?
i paid $30 for the modulator and $16 for the antenna adapters, all from amazon.com. links are in the first post^
__________________
The Auto: Graphite G6 Sedan
Engine: 3.5L V6
Mods: Red Caliper Paint, Window Tint (more to come, but on a college kid's budget)
luckyedboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 09:05 AM   #5
maykevin5
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Gallery: 5
maykevin5 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
Hmm, If you were to go through all that trouble, I would just put the hard wired version in.
maykevin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 12:10 PM   #6
luckyedboy66
Lead Foot
 
luckyedboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AlAbAmA
Posts: 67
Gallery: 3
luckyedboy66 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by maykevin5 View Post
Hmm, If you were to go through all that trouble, I would just put the hard wired version in.
mmm im not sure what you mean... it is hard wired. if you mean replacing the head unit, there are several reasons why i didnt: cost and loss of the computer display, mainly.
__________________
The Auto: Graphite G6 Sedan
Engine: 3.5L V6
Mods: Red Caliper Paint, Window Tint (more to come, but on a college kid's budget)
luckyedboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 01:02 PM   #7
maykevin5
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Gallery: 5
maykevin5 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyedboy66 View Post
mmm im not sure what you mean... it is hard wired. if you mean replacing the head unit, there are several reasons why i didnt: cost and loss of the computer display, mainly.
There's a kit that plugs into the 12 pin connector on the back of the radio. When you press the SRCE button under volume. It changes from Radio to CD to AUX if its plugged in.

Last edited by maykevin5; 05-26-2009 at 01:14 PM.
maykevin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:52 PM   #8
luckyedboy66
Lead Foot
 
luckyedboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AlAbAmA
Posts: 67
Gallery: 3
luckyedboy66 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by maykevin5 View Post
There's a kit that plugs into the 12 pin connector on the back of the radio. When you press the SRCE button under volume. It changes from Radio to CD to AUX if its plugged in.
oh, well... dang it. could you plost a link? i have a suspicion that my route is cheaper, but i will have to keep that in mind.
__________________
The Auto: Graphite G6 Sedan
Engine: 3.5L V6
Mods: Red Caliper Paint, Window Tint (more to come, but on a college kid's budget)
luckyedboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 07:34 AM   #9
maykevin5
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Gallery: 5
maykevin5 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyedboy66 View Post
oh, well... dang it. could you plost a link? i have a suspicion that my route is cheaper, but i will have to keep that in mind.
Your route is cheaper, but you don't really rule out 100% static. If you pause the music some how and crank it up, you'll hear a hissing sound.
here ya go.. http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=446
maykevin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:30 PM   #10
avallach
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Gallery: 0
avallach is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by maykevin5 View Post
Your route is cheaper, but you don't really rule out 100% static. If you pause the music some how and crank it up, you'll hear a hissing sound.
here ya go.. http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=446
Does this method charge while playing? I have an older iPod and the battery is crap. But if I can find something that will connect via the dock connector and charge it while playing, that's a win.
avallach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 06:54 PM   #11
Adam R
Member
 
Adam R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Age: 23
Posts: 99
Gallery: 0
Adam R is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by maykevin5 View Post
Your route is cheaper, but you don't really rule out 100% static. If you pause the music some how and crank it up, you'll hear a hissing sound.
here ya go.. http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=446
when you go to order it it says it isnt meant for the g6
Adam R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:50 PM   #12
RedRocket
Senior Member
 
RedRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 174
Gallery: 15
RedRocket is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam R View Post
when you go to order it it says it isnt meant for the g6
This looks pretty cool and seems like a cheaper way to get an aux input rather than buying a new head unit. Has anybody ever gone this route with the G6 or installed it before?
__________________
2007 G6 GT

Debadged, K&N Drop In Air Filter, Pioneer DEH-6200bt w/ Metra Kit, L.E.D. Tailights, L.E.D. 3rd Brake Light, 7500k High beam, Low Beam, and Fog Lights, L.E.D Lights Behind the Grille, L.E.D. Reverse Lamps, Ya, Basically L.E.D.s all over, And more to come....
RedRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 11:03 PM   #13
maykevin5
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 31
Posts: 588
Gallery: 5
maykevin5 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
Think that depends on if you have monsoon or not. they probably don't include the G6 because if its not the monsoon it won't work or something. People getting mixed up..
maykevin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 04:08 PM   #14
RedRocket
Senior Member
 
RedRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 174
Gallery: 15
RedRocket is on a distinguished road
alright....well i got the monsson, maybe ill order it and make a weekend project out of it....now where to mount that huge box and inputs...?
__________________
2007 G6 GT

Debadged, K&N Drop In Air Filter, Pioneer DEH-6200bt w/ Metra Kit, L.E.D. Tailights, L.E.D. 3rd Brake Light, 7500k High beam, Low Beam, and Fog Lights, L.E.D Lights Behind the Grille, L.E.D. Reverse Lamps, Ya, Basically L.E.D.s all over, And more to come....
RedRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:09 PM   #15
RedRocket
Senior Member
 
RedRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 174
Gallery: 15
RedRocket is on a distinguished road
Talked to the customer service at discount parts direct and here is the link for what would work for a 07 GT with monsoon and no xm

http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=1246

From what i understand if your car totally doesnt have sat radio (what it works through, i think ) then you have to go to the dealer and have them activate it....other wise looks like it should work fine, has a one year warranty and can be returned if it doesnt work. If you search "PXAMG operation in 2009 pontiac G6" on youtube they have a demo
__________________
2007 G6 GT

Debadged, K&N Drop In Air Filter, Pioneer DEH-6200bt w/ Metra Kit, L.E.D. Tailights, L.E.D. 3rd Brake Light, 7500k High beam, Low Beam, and Fog Lights, L.E.D Lights Behind the Grille, L.E.D. Reverse Lamps, Ya, Basically L.E.D.s all over, And more to come....
RedRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design