Need help! - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2011, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 136
 
Need help!

I drive a 2.4

so question about my intake. I took it off to get work done and didnt want to effect warranty. I drove about 2 weeks without it and my car was acting up. Lose of power, car was like pulsing when at red lights. I took it in they said maybe dirty injectors or throttle. So spent 110$ to get it all clean and still the same. Put intake back on and it was even worse. Gotta press gas all the way down for it to move once pass 40 miles per hr then its fine. But when i keep a constant speed like at 75 i can feel it hesitating back and fourth. Injen says cause i switched intake and stock it messed up fuel ratio. He said put back to stock, disconnect battery drive for awhile. so it resets. Then put intake on disconnect battery and drive around. I dont know whats going on. Sorry for the long message.
ck08G6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2011, 07:57 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Without the intake the ecm has no idea how much air the engine demands. Incoming air volume is measured by the MAF. My 2.4l barely runs when I unhook the inlet.




Last edited by greenman; 08-15-2011 at 08:01 PM.
greenman is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2011, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 136
 
So how can i reset the computer? Or what do i have to do
ck08G6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2011, 09:28 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck08G6 View Post
So how can i reset the computer? Or what do i have to do
Disconnecting the batt resets the keep-alive memory. It will not erase DTCs as they are kept in non-volatile memory. Is the MIL lit? Even if not, have it scanned for codes. All incoming air must pass thru the MAF tunnel. There can be no incoming air leaks.

What year is the car?



greenman is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2011, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 136
 
Its a 2008. Evrything was fine till i took intake pf went to stock then put it back on. Now its running like shit.
ck08G6 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2011, 04:14 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Told ya the Injen would get ya! But noooooooooooooooooooooo you wouldnt believe me!! lol

That injen requires you playing with the MAF. It wasnt damaged was it??

Make triple sure its ALL connected up correctly. Sounds like an intake leak.
Is the return line hooked up??

Disconnect battery for 15 min.....let it discharge. If you hook it back up and have the same problem run it by somewhere to read if its throwing any codes.

Might be a different unrelated problem.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2011, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 136
 
How do u check for a leak? Where would it be leaking?
ck08G6 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2011, 02:08 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck08G6 View Post
How do u check for a leak? Where would it be leaking?
Here's a good read:

http://www.aa1car.com/library/vacleak.htm

A crude method in a pinch is to use stick incense. But some sticks make more smoke than others. Wand it around all the connection points & see if the smoke gets drawn in. Others use carb spray cleaner & spray the joints & listen for an idle spike but it is very flammable stuff so be careful. I don't really have a handle on what you've done so all I can tell you is retrace your steps from the beginning.

If the throttle body was exposed for 2 weeks maybe something besides air got sucked in.

A $30 obd2 code reader is a great tool to keep in the glove box.




Last edited by greenman; 08-16-2011 at 02:13 PM.
greenman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome