Check engine light no codes - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-09-2011, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
 
Angry Check engine light no codes

I have a 2007 g6 and my check engine light goes on but when we try to pull the codes it says there is an error. Has this happened to anyone else? If so what is the fix before I spend alot of money for them to try to find the issue.

Last edited by sandidavis4; 12-09-2011 at 10:59 AM.
sandidavis4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-09-2011, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Metalhead852's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lima, OH
Age: 34
Posts: 163
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandidavis4 View Post
I have a 2007 g6 and my check engine light goes on but when we try to pull the codes it says there is an error. Has this happened to anyone else? If so what is the fix before I spend alot of money for them to try to find the issue.
What scan tool are you using?

Lima... where the men outnumber the women and the women outweigh the men.
Metalhead852 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-09-2011, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
 
Im not sure what my mechanic(family friend) used. He tried with 2 different computers. Went to auto zone as well and there computer didnt work either. Auto zone said go to the dealership and they would look into it. Went back to my mechanic and he looked at the fuses and anything else in the general area he said it will get costly if I go to the dealership. My mechanic is stumped
sandidavis4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-09-2011, 01:52 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandidavis4 View Post
I have a 2007 g6 and my check engine light goes on but when we try to pull the codes it says there is an error. Has this happened to anyone else? If so what is the fix before I spend alot of money for them to try to find the issue.
here's one possibility:
An open in the DLC ground circuit (terminal 5) will allow the scan tool to power on but not communicate with the vehicle.

Dealer diagnostic fee is usually around $100.

I have read threads from others who have had this issue but they have not come back & reported a solution that I can recall.


https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/at...1&d=1323463400

The formatting is stripped out so this chart is harder to interpret then it should be (nothing I can do about it):

Data Link Connector (DLC) Pin
Wire Color
Circuit No.
Function

1
D-GN
5060
Low Speed GMLAN Serial Data

2-3
--
--
Not Used

4
BK
650
Ground

5
BK/WH
651
Ground

6
TN/BK
2500
High Speed GMLAN Serial Data Bus (+)

7-13
--
--
Not Used

14
TN
2501
High Speed GMLAN Serial Data Bus (-)

15
--
--
Not Used

16
RD/WH
440
Battery Positive Voltage



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DLC.png
Views:	373
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	2626  
greenman is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-10-2013, 12:58 PM
Junior Member
 
justin.fure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 2
 
Talking

Thank you so much Greenman! I'm also having this issue at around 130,000 miles and it's really upsetting after my brake lights & cruise control not working that was recalled but not for my VIN and then replacing my power steering column that was near recall status. At any rate, I hate my g6.

Anyways, this is the closest that I've come to an answer on this thread's issue! Does anyone have any more info on it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenman View Post
here's one possibility:
An open in the DLC ground circuit (terminal 5) will allow the scan tool to power on but not communicate with the vehicle.

Dealer diagnostic fee is usually around $100.

I have read threads from others who have had this issue but they have not come back & reported a solution that I can recall.


https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/at...1&d=1323463400

The formatting is stripped out so this chart is harder to interpret then it should be (nothing I can do about it):

Data Link Connector (DLC) Pin
Wire Color
Circuit No.
Function

1
D-GN
5060
Low Speed GMLAN Serial Data

2-3
--
--
Not Used

4
BK
650
Ground

5
BK/WH
651
Ground

6
TN/BK
2500
High Speed GMLAN Serial Data Bus (+)

7-13
--
--
Not Used

14
TN
2501
High Speed GMLAN Serial Data Bus (-)

15
--
--
Not Used

16
RD/WH
440
Battery Positive Voltage
justin.fure is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-10-2013, 01:39 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by justin.fure View Post
Anyways, this is the closest that I've come to an answer on this thread's issue! Does anyone have any more info on it?
Which exact code reader are you using? Have u tried more than one?



greenman is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-13-2013, 10:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandidavis4 View Post
I have a 2007 g6 and my check engine discount hid kits goes on but when we try to pull the codes it says there is an error. Has this happened to anyone else? If so what is the fix before I spend alot of money for them to try to find the issue.
Yes surely it is a problem for many.. You need to scan it and get the right code. If you don't know the way then ask an expert to do it ..

Last edited by BertDaniels; 06-14-2013 at 03:53 AM.
BertDaniels is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traction control light and check engine light on after changing plugs Stel Problems and Solutions 12 02-17-2019 12:47 PM
Check Gas Cap messgae/Check Engine Light on Davidk Problems and Solutions 4 09-21-2012 11:53 AM
Check engine light Drums101 Problems and Solutions 10 02-25-2011 10:57 PM
Codes & Check Engine Light wupracing Problems and Solutions 1 08-03-2009 02:40 PM
Check Engine Light??? markpetersonii Problems and Solutions 1 02-12-2009 04:28 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome