Terrible Gas Mileage !! - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
 
Terrible Gas Mileage !!

Long story short , I have a 2006 G6 GTP with 65000 miles on it, after a rebuild transmission ($2000). P0011 new camshaft sensor instslled by dealer $300 bucks !!New plugs and wires, oil change done, new air filter, new battery installed, I'm only getting an average of 200 up to 220 miles per tank !! And I've noticed a lack of power !! And ideas on what it can be ??? I'm thinking maybe thermostat stuck open ?? Or maybe I need a new catalytic converter ?? Or maybe the computer needs to be upgraded with new software ???


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Flaco773 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 08:25 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Yikes.....that sucks. I would drive it back to the dealership and ask them what they
did to crap up your HP & MPG's...

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 11:28 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
yea check with the dealership.
Any other trouble codes? Your cat could be clogged up... Does it run fine up until you try to drive it?

One day after a long enough drive you can try to open your hood and take a look. The cats can glow if they get hot enough...

Computers usually don't need to be upgraded unless you're looking for performance gains.

Hopefully it gets resolved!
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
 
Okay, I tried looking at the cat after a long 2hour expressway drive and I didn't see the cat glow red, I put a OBD2 scanner on it and no codes come up, all monitors come up as good, I really think its the cat or maybe the oxygen sensors possibly any input guys ????


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Flaco773 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 04:58 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Hmm. the cat could still be at fault. Slightly clogged, enough to rob power and MPG but not enough to get super hot... I would assume it would throw a code.

I believe there is a test where you can hook up a gauge in place of the first o2 sensor and measure the back pressure in the exhaust. You may then be able to determine if it is bad.

as for specs on how much pressure, or the tools i'm not too sure. Maybe autozone has one you can rent?
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
 
Thanks for the info , I'll see tomorrow if I can get a muffler shop to perform that particular test


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Flaco773 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 10:04 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: buffalo, ny
Age: 26
Posts: 24
 
I have a 06 GTP coupe as well, 75,000 miles. I have the 6 speed trans and I am averaging only 15.6 MPG according to the display. I always keep up on my maintenance and there car seems to be in good working order (no codes, no driving problems, no loss of power). I've been wondering why its been so bad too. Let me know what you find out, its possible we have the same problem. Thanks!
cswild26 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 10:24 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Here's some good info on exhaust back pressure.

Exhaust Backpressure
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
 
Cswild26 I'll keep you informed !! CrusinG6 thanks alot I'll also keep you informed !!! Thanks for all the info


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Flaco773 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 04:50 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
No problem, best of luck.
I'm interested to see what the resolution is.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What gas mileage are you getting? 05G6GTstanger Problems and Solutions 231 05-29-2019 05:15 AM
GXP hi-way mileage? Thunderbat G6 GXP Discussion 12 01-07-2011 06:43 PM
gas mileage V6 vs I4... wantboost G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 10 10-22-2010 05:18 AM
Gas Mileage Help gmitch23 Problems and Solutions 10 10-03-2010 10:29 PM
Terrible roof/sunroof creaking & rattling on '08 coupe beach Problems and Solutions 8 09-10-2008 09:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome