REMOTE START causing misfire?? - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
Exclamation REMOTE START causing misfire??

Once again I'm here looking for help. I purchased the car a couple months ago and it had the CEL light on. Took it into auto zone and had the code read. Bank 2 sensor 1 O2. Replaced the sensor and still had the CEL. Long story short i have replaced the 02 sensor, all 6 plugs, wires, and had the o rings on the injector for cylinder 1 replaced. CEL still randomly comes on. Only seems to come on when car is under idol but ONLY when using remote start. I can key start and let it run for hours with no CEL coming on but EVERY time i remote start it runs for about 3 minutes and the CEL comes on and code is alway P0301. I'm getting flustered! Anyone have any input on the situation. Thanks in advance
Firefightertom32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 12:33 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Were you getting the 301 before replacing the o2 sensor?

Were you getting the 301 before replacing the #1 plug & wire?

I assume you are clearing the code each time it pops because remote start is disabled by any popped code that turns on the CEL.

The only thing that comes to mind is that when you use RS you let it idle longer when the engine is cold.

What exact code led you to replace the o2 sensor?

How many miles? Which engine?




Last edited by greenman; 02-14-2012 at 12:37 PM.
greenman is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
The 301 was coming up from day one. With that code was (P0059 HO2S Heater Resistance (Bank 2, Sensor 1)) Which led me to replace the O2 Sensor. Code reset

Code 301 again displayed. Found air leak around Fuel injector for cylinder 1. Had o rings replaced and code reset again

Code 301 again displayed after being started with remote. Replaced plug wires and plugs. Code reset

(NOTE- I can warm the car up with key start and no CEL will come on. Thats why I'm leaning towards something with remote start)

The engine is the (2005) 3.5L with 119,000 Miles

Thanks for your reply
Firefightertom32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 01:57 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
I can't for the life of me come up with an explanation for how a #1 misfire is being caused by RS.

Is that an OEM RS or aftermarket?



greenman is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
It is the OEM RS. This has my self and my mechanic both scratching our heads. the best we can some up with is that the RS is causing a disruption in the firing pattern??? Assuming Cylinder 1 is the first to fire. Maybe??
Firefightertom32 is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 08:43 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Has your mechanic looked at the misfire data with a scan tool & checked the DTC freeze frame for any clues?

Do you only use the RS on the first cold start of the day or is there any such pattern to when it's used?



greenman is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 10:42 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
Although these examples are from other manufacturers, they run into the same problem:

http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=690829
http://www.yotatech.com/f2/misfire-update-201164/
http://www.jeepcommander.com/forums/...ad.php?t=11067

Tell me if this helps. Huge image incoming:


2006 Pontiac G6 GT

Appearance Mods: AIT front bumper, Black Eagle Eye Halo Projectors with DDM Tuning 5000k HIDs 35w,
GT door decals, painted interior trim, red calipers, de-chromed window trim
Performance Mods: WAMS tune, CRABS, aftermarket sound system

Abyssul is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 04:40 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
My mechanic has watched the vehicle run on the scan tool but im not completly sure what he was watching for. If i remote start the car, it usually runs for a few minutes then throws the code. Code will usually resets its self in a day tops. Guess i'll be taking her to a dealer here in the near future
Firefightertom32 is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 09:44 AM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
Does it act funny before throwing the code?

2006 Pontiac G6 GT

Appearance Mods: AIT front bumper, Black Eagle Eye Halo Projectors with DDM Tuning 5000k HIDs 35w,
GT door decals, painted interior trim, red calipers, de-chromed window trim
Performance Mods: WAMS tune, CRABS, aftermarket sound system

Abyssul is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
No, not at all, i watched the idel RMP with the remote start and the key start and nothing changed. I don't feel it missing but i assume i wouln't feel a single cylinder anyway. Like i posted earlier the car can sit for a half hour on Keyed start up in the same wather conditions and not throw the code which is what is really confusing the hell out of me
Firefightertom32 is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 03:29 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
Just wondering because I had one of my cylinders misfire, but I never made any correlation between remote start because it only happened twice. The second time it happened I was able to grab a code. I replaced the spark plugs and wires and its been fine since.

I could tell when mine was going to misfire because I would start the car and it would be rough and hesitate. It wouldn't flash the CEL until I cruised down the street though. Restarting the car would remove symptoms though. It was completely random.

2006 Pontiac G6 GT

Appearance Mods: AIT front bumper, Black Eagle Eye Halo Projectors with DDM Tuning 5000k HIDs 35w,
GT door decals, painted interior trim, red calipers, de-chromed window trim
Performance Mods: WAMS tune, CRABS, aftermarket sound system

Abyssul is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 04:25 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
**UPDATE**
After my 3 hour trip to Indianapolis this weekend i have determined that the remote start is not a factor with the issue. The car is now misfiring on cylinder 1 on a pretty regular basis. I can feel it at idle. I also can feel it when I'm running freeway speeds around 80 MPH. Not so much in the 55-60 MPH range. It's killing my MPG. Only ran 25MPG on the trip. Any more in site would be much appreciated.
Firefightertom32 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 06:27 AM
Gpof59
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Racine, WI.
Age: 66
Posts: 46
 
Sounds like a fuel injector going or gone bad. Take the plug out and see if it's wet. I'm betting it's the injector.
pof09G6 is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
Colon Fire & Rescue
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colon Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 36
 
Anyone ever remove fuel injector for cylinder 1?
Firefightertom32 is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 10:34 AM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
I would switch the wire/plug between cylinder 1 and 3 (they are right next to each other). If the code moves over to cylinder 3, then you have a problem with your wire or plug. Even though you said you replaced them, I'm still skeptical.

Take the wire and plug off cylinder 1, and then the wire and plug off cylinder 3. Put cylinder 1's old plug and wire and install it for cylinder 3. Same for cylinder 1.

2006 Pontiac G6 GT

Appearance Mods: AIT front bumper, Black Eagle Eye Halo Projectors with DDM Tuning 5000k HIDs 35w,
GT door decals, painted interior trim, red calipers, de-chromed window trim
Performance Mods: WAMS tune, CRABS, aftermarket sound system

Abyssul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote start for 08 g6 dknsy90 Car Audio, Video and Security 1 12-10-2011 01:01 AM
Remote Start Adam R Car Audio, Video and Security 7 09-13-2011 06:23 PM
won't start from the remote daygon Problems and Solutions 10 03-14-2011 03:29 PM
WTB: Remote Start Duner21 Items Wanted 6 11-25-2008 03:34 PM
Remote Start wllntr54 Problems and Solutions 1 11-19-2008 08:10 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome