Rattling noise coming from under the hood. - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2012, 05:20 PM Thread Starter

Rattling noise coming from under the hood.

Hi there, I have an 05 G6 and I just started to notice that I have a really loud rattling noise coming from under the hood. It gets louder when I rev my engine. When I open the hood, I looked at the timing belt and it seems to be wobbling back and forth, like it's not completely in place. I'm wondering if the chain is going bad.

If this has happened to anyone else, does it sound like the timing belt/chain? Or something else? Does anyone know approximately how much it costs to replace?

Thank you,
Peace<3andG6.

PEACE, LOVE AND G6.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2012, 07:26 PM

i am not a mechanic by any means i just tinker as a hobby but where are you looking? because i went out and looked at my car same engine and all to see if i could see the timing belt/chain and all i can see in the serpentine belt on the left of the engine, if that belt is wobbling that would moreless be where the noise is coming from.

i would start by removing ur belt and inspecting each one of the pully's for any kind of play if they wiggle then that would be the problem by what u described
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2012, 07:45 PM Thread Starter

Yes, you're right. It must be the serpentine belt then. It's the belt to the left of the engine. But then it sounds like it's coming from everywhere around the engine, even over by my tires. So I'm not sure if it's coming from deep inside or if it is the belt wobbling.

From what I can see, I think G6s have a timing chain instead of a belt. Maybe the chain is loose? I don't think you can see it from just looking straight into the engine. I've heard they're extremely hard to get to and replace, so I'm guessing a mechanic would have to be able to tell if it was that.

PEACE, LOVE AND G6.