Speedometer reading too high after stereo install - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
06 G6 2.4L
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Age: 29
Posts: 2
 
Unhappy Speedometer reading too high after stereo install

Yesterday I installed an amplifier and in process had to remover the stereo to hook up wiring. Everything went find. No broken plastic or broken bones!

However, started off to work this AM and noticed the speedometer was reading 75 MPH and I was creeping along about 35 to 40.

What happened? What and where should I begin to look?

I did have to disconnect the battery and got a little spark reconnecting, but thats normal. No smoke or burn smells.

Just simple Amp install

Any help????
Tater103 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 03:07 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Does it say KPH instead of MPH now at the bottom of the speedo as well? (MPH on the left under 0. KPH on the right under 140)

Is the stock stereo still in place? If so just go through the menu until you get to units and change it Imperial instead of metric. I'm fairly certain you're stuck in metric mode.
If you replaced the stereo with an aftermarket stereo then you may need a DIC adapter kit to change those settings or you may just need to reconnect your stock stereo change the setting and hopefully be good.

Last edited by CruisinG6; 08-02-2012 at 03:09 PM.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
06 G6 2.4L
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Age: 29
Posts: 2
 
CruisinG6,
You are correct!
I made the menu change and everything is fine now.
Thank you kindly!

Ps.. Love ur G
Tater103 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 09:15 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Hey no problem! Glad that was the solution!

And thanks, a lot of time and effort has gone into my G6, And not done yet! haha
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 12:54 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Good call CruisinG6. The personalization settings should not be lost though. I wonder what's up with that. Maybe it's a glitch that only involves a certain version of BCMs. I remember that there have been reports of mileage resetting to zero after a battery disconnect in early model G6s.



greenman is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 10:23 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
That's what I thought, that some BCMs must be different, Is there a way to tell which version or type you have? Maybe we should get a thread comparing BCMs and see if can be whittled down to a problematic line of BCMs..

Also to me it sounded like he left the stock head unit in. If that's the case maybe the head unit defaulted to metric when it was re-installed? Which I'd still find a little odd haha
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 01:34 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,388
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruisinG6 View Post
That's what I thought, that some BCMs must be different, Is there a way to tell which version or type you have?
You'd need a high-end scan tool to know what firmware version it's running. The hardware version is marked on an external sticker.




Last edited by greenman; 08-05-2012 at 01:37 PM.
greenman is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 01:39 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
well I guess I could obviously see what the hardware version is, but what could would that info do really? haha But thanks for that info greenman! Good to know!
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd Player Not Reading Disc's wzhizhi22 Problems and Solutions 3 05-05-2012 09:28 PM
Reading MIL code tg2122460 General Maintenance 0 03-19-2010 10:27 AM
How accurate is the DIC tire pressure reading? offthelake General Maintenance 4 02-27-2010 11:34 PM
Aftermarket stereo install without D.I.C.? gunrunner0 Car Audio, Video and Security 6 08-04-2009 06:14 AM
High pitch noise at high RPM's. Please Help! BostonTaylor Problems and Solutions 3 06-25-2009 08:33 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome