remote question - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
 
Question remote question

Just bought a 2006 G6..sweet ride!

It had no remote and my question is:How can I find out if a remote will even work and does it have remote start? Is there a web site that can answer these questions or is this a dealer question?

Also, I saw on ebay plenty of used remotes around $15 but the dealer has to program them, has anyone gone this route? Is the dealer going to ream me to reprogram it?
tobyfab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-17-2007, 02:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
 
Yes

Call the dealership service department and give them your vin number. They will be able to tell you if it has remote start. Witht he GM key FOB you must have the dealer program as they have to match it with their equipment. Sucks, but I believe it's like 35 or so to do it.
05G6V6 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-17-2007, 07:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
 
remote

I just went through this dealer told me to go ahead and buy the remote so i did off ebay got 2 of them took it back to the dealer to have it programed and after a hour there they told me the option was not added at the factory and i had to buy a after market your car needs some ap8 code i get my after market installed this friday
dbritner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2007, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
 
Got the remote from ebay for 12 bucks..looks brand new! dealer programmed it for free and I think I could get use to the remote starter.
tobyfab is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-03-2008, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
 
Hello All!

New to the forum. My preowned '07 G6 didn't come with a remote. I purchased a new remote but most of the dealers in the Dallas area are charging upwards of 50.00 to program it. Any way I can program it myself?

Thanks!!!
mooksilu is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-06-2008, 10:56 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
 
Nope No way to program them yourself it has to be done at a GM dealer. $30.00 to $50.00 is the going rate for the programing.
tbrimeyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote start hiccups CharlesP2009 Problems and Solutions 3 09-09-2006 05:44 PM
Safe to leave the AC on for remote start? CharlesP2009 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 6 09-09-2006 04:01 AM
Remote keyless entry/starter problems Fusion Problems and Solutions 4 06-29-2006 07:59 PM
Remote Start Problem panda9996 Problems and Solutions 10 12-08-2005 09:27 PM
behavior of remote start briandors G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 4 06-16-2005 04:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome