Can't play burnt CD''s - Page 2 - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 532
 
Lets hope your new deck last longer than mine did. glad to hear its working though
S8ER99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
 
I had problems with the cheap discs at first but all of my newly burned discs are on memorex black cd's and they all play perfectly.
Smockonallama is offline  
post #18 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 08:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
 
All six discs in my player are burned by me and all work prefectly. Make sure you are finalizing the discs other otherwise it will not be able to read them, just wanted to make sure you are.

Last edited by White Wolf; 12-19-2005 at 08:25 PM.
White Wolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-30-2008, 07:37 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
 
I have found out on my Ford and Pontiac, and also my older home CD players, you have to record yuor discs below the bit rate that the player will handle, I haven't had any trouble with 128kpbs.
metlmangreg is offline  
post #20 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 07:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 586
 
The only problems that i have had, is using cheap cd's, use the more expensive ones that are made for music, and it should work. also, i never had a problem with the bitrate, it should not make a difference, because that is the just the quality of sound, not how the cd is read.
Fusion is offline  
post #21 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 09:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
 
I've had a very similar problem.. and i can relate a little to each of your stories- However my cd player only brings up the changer error when it is extremely hot or extremely cold- lots of times after my car has been running for awhile it will start working- it will just pop it over to the radio and i'll change the source every now and then to check to see if it's ready to work. I did take it in to the dealer the first time it happened and they also acted like it had never happened to anyone before and acted like i was making it up- they said i would have to pay if i wanted the radio replaced.. it's just something i can learn to deal with but since everyone else is having the problem... maybe it's some kinda of defect- i dunno. I do know that i've never had a problem playing any cd burnt or not.
ashienw is offline  
post #22 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 08:00 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
 
I burnt a cd the other day and it was in the MP3 format it worked just fine in my cd player. I havent had any problems yet.. (cross my fingers)
CrazyBeautifulG6 is offline  
post #23 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-03-2008, 02:21 PM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
I have the monsoon 6 disk in dash. It won't play some burnt cd's but will the others. Don't know why. I'm going to see if it has to do with the brand of cd.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #24 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 03:38 PM
Member
 
wesuhlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Posts: 81
 
i probably own more burnt cd's than regular and i have yet to have a problem...don't expect to...i noticed that the player recognizes certain skips that my saturn did not...there are actually some songs that it just doesn't play at all...these same songs would come through in the saturn...don't know...it's a decent stereo but could use more watts
wesuhlee is offline  
post #25 of 48 (permalink) Old 02-05-2009, 05:24 AM
Junior Member
 
AnnieM74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
 
Burnt Cd's are all I play in my G6, never with any problems :-)
AnnieM74 is offline  
post #26 of 48 (permalink) Old 03-04-2010, 03:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
 
I had the same problem but i found a cure!! I use Itunes to burn a CD though because of my ipod touch but after i get all my songs i hit the burn cd button and a thing pops up that has checks next to "audio check" and "cd text" and i unclick them and change the pause inbetween songs to 1 second instead of 2 and now all the burned cds work in my car!!!
deannanoel07 is offline  
post #27 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-10-2010, 06:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
 
I have a 2007 G6, I use .mp3 files on a burned CD with Verbatim CDs. Just keep popping in the CD till it works. Sometimes it will work the first try, sometimes it will take over 6 attempts.
RyanxSwanson is offline  
post #28 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 606
 
mp3

I have a 6 CD player in my 09 G6, nothing in the owners manual about playing mp3 CD's. You guys are saying it will play them?
slls is offline  
post #29 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 11:29 AM
WHITE G6 GT (:
 
dwhiteg6gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 28
Posts: 159
 
I don't think they are programmed to play MP3 CD's. GM was to lazy to put a damn AUX for iPod's in which is just straight RETARDED! But anyways, I'm sure they can play MP3 files but it won't work everytime? Also, don't buy the cheap CD's. Spend a few more dollars and get a good brand. Lastly, when burning to be safe just do it on the slowest burn. You'll have a better chance at quality and it working. Another reason it may not work is because your computer.

Dillon
dwhiteg6gt is offline  
post #30 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 10:39 PM
Professional geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 433
 
The stock stereos will not play .mp3 files burned to a CD. They will play .mp3 files that have been converted to standard audio CD format (for example if you use iTunes to burn the CD).

It's not a matter of eject/insert for .mp3 files on a CD. The CD player has to have a specific hardware and software feature on it that none of our stock stereos (including Monsoon) have. If you are having problems with burned CDs not playing, the next time you burn one, if the program you are using allows you to select the "write speed" or "burn speed" for the CD, instead of using maximum speed, try something more towards the middle. The CD will take longer to burn, but it will be easier for more players to read.

~ MattInSoCal
Professional Geek
MattInSoCal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome