Shifter Locking in Park - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 06:38 PM Thread Starter

Shifter Locking in Park

From time to time, my shifter will not release from park into drive/reverse unless I stomp the brake ALL THE WAY to the floor (which in turn causes my break lights to jam). It lasts through a few starts and then will go back to normal break pressure release.

Has anyone experienced this??? If so what was the problem? I have noticed vibrations when breaking lately which I assume are my rotors warping...would this be a possible cause of the lockups? Or is it an electrical issue?

Its becoming a concern because it has been happening more frequently and my '06/53k mi was purchased used and is no longer under warranty.

BTW- I am new to the sight and am very pleased to find out that Advanced Auto Parts carries moderately priced wiper blade replacements. Auto Zone instructed me to go to the dealer and Wal Mart was clueless. Could not believe the price of the blades at the dealer. Glad I checked the sight prior to purchase.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-24-2011, 06:41 PM

I have that same problem to and was wondering if anyone could help me on it. I took it to a deal and they sadi since they cant replicate the probelm they couldnt fix it. I notice when I turn on my car then i press on the brake and sometimes when the brake seems gharder to push on the gear shit locks up and i cant press the button into shift. Is there a way to fix that or when it happens something i can try? i have an '07 G6
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-25-2011, 07:23 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
its been talked about and I think its the brake light switch....search around youll definitly find some info. other symptoms are brake lights stay on and cruise control doesnt always work

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
Sponsored Links
Advertisement