The infamous Engine light - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-09-2008, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Bambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
 
Arrow The infamous Engine light

Just after 2 weeks of buying my 2006 GTP the light has came on. she has roughly 60k miles, runs overall fantastic, no problems, perfect mint condition. I was trying to program a new keyless entry pad, of course that wouldn't work (found out later after screwing around with it ) i needed to program it at a dealership.

Well, Engine light is on solid. *as of this evening* Everything seems to be running ok? I sorta kinda hear some minor knocking? very light though? maybe it's just me. Update: The knocking is the actual engine itself wigglin and making the noise.. I can see and hear it when it's in park. Now to figure out what the check engine light is trying to tell me.


What the hell did I get myself into? carfax report seems perfect too.. any help is greatfull.

also; is there a way to get a code or anything? because I don't see anything? I'm just trying to avoid having to fork out money that I literally do not have at this moment. Does the diagnostic cost a fortune? free? what?

Thanks a bunch once again!

Angela

Last edited by Bambi; 11-09-2008 at 09:44 PM.
Bambi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-10-2008, 05:39 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Did u buy it "as is"?
Run it back by there and ask them whats up.

Could be something simple.

I had the same issue with a 2002 Cougar. Turned out one cylinder wasnt firing because the spark plug wire had crapped out. Replaced them and its been humming along now almost a year with nothing but an oil change.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Bambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
 
We found out it was Code P0128 I think? Something about the Engine Coolant. it's nice and full, so it's possible something isn't reading right. The car isn't over heating at all. the dealership ( small family owned ) location, offered to fix it. I have yet to run it through DEQ here in Oregon. so, here's the odd part. I drove it to my inlaws tonight, parked it up on her steep driveway.. for roughly 2 - 3 hours.. got in the car, and the light is off.. What the heck?

I wonder if they will still fix it even though the light is out now? I'm glad it's not anything MAJOR, but even something simple my father could fix. My husband is NOT a car guy. haha updates as they come!


Owner: 2006 Pontiac G6 GTP 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl) -Fully Loaded!
Oh, Married and a mommy to four kids under 7!
Bambi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 04:59 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Just cause yours CEL (check engine light) is now off does not mean that your ECM did not capture the code. My guess would be the sensor is failing, hence the intermittant issue.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
 
a p0128 is for engine coolent not reachign temp in time, 99% of times it is a sticking/ faulty thermostat
TECH946 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-12-2008, 01:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Bambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
 
Thanks guys!


Owner: 2006 Pontiac G6 GTP 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl) -Fully Loaded!
Oh, Married and a mommy to four kids under 7!
Bambi is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-25-2008, 03:04 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 7
 
Send a message via AIM to bbeckers24
ok I have the same problem. but my temperature gauge isnt working. I t was intermittent, but has now been out a few days. I replaced the engine coolant sensor, but no change. Is there a different sensor than the one in the back of the block, a friend of mine suggested that maybe there was a sensor for the gauge and one for the computer. I'm stumped. Right now, it isnt a huge problem, but the car will not allow the AC to come on without the gauge working. I know this because when it was intermittent, the AC would work when the gauge did and not when the gauge didnt. There is power to the gauge because it still sweeps when you start up the car. PLEASE HELP.
bbeckers24 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-25-2008, 03:37 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
year, model, coupe/sedan, engine??

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-26-2008, 06:34 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 7
 
Send a message via AIM to bbeckers24
2006 GTP Coupe with the 3.9L
bbeckers24 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-26-2008, 07:26 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Quote:
any check engine lights/codes?

I know for sure a p0128 will casue that issue.
if there is a p0128 99% of the time replaceing the thermostat will fix it.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-26-2008, 08:27 PM
RAM AIR!!
 
coupe_gtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
 
Send a message via AIM to coupe_gtp
sure quote andy alot heh.
coupe_gtp is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-26-2008, 11:38 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
 
andy?

when a/c will not work is the outside temp displaying?

when a/c wont work and outside temp is not working 99% of time it is the temp sensor
TECH946 is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-26-2008, 11:58 PM
RAM AIR!!
 
coupe_gtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
 
Send a message via AIM to coupe_gtp
I was just joking with rob, he gets the jab heh.
coupe_gtp is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-27-2008, 03:57 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
My fellow Ram Air buddy....waaaas up Coupe?

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-27-2008, 09:28 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 7
 
Send a message via AIM to bbeckers24
Ok. Got it figured out. There is not a separate sensor for the computer and gauge as my mechanic friends thought. There is only one. After messing with it, I went and checked and noticed the gauge was working again. I unplugged the sensor and the gauge quit. This confirmed only one sensor. About the same time I figured this out, my mechanic friend confirmed from pontiac that the gauge does not have a separate sensor. Then I noticed it stopped again. Turns out it isn't the sensor that is bad, but a bad wire at the connector. I dont know if its the same on all the cars, but for whatever reason my connector wire seemed pretty short which caused a kink at the connector. When I wiggle the wires at the connector it goes on and off. I ordered a new connector. Hopefully all will be good when I replace it. Thanks for all the help. FYI I found the connector from rockauto.com which I heard of through this site. Their prices are pretty dang good. I recently ordered a radiator hose for another car that was $80 on most sites, but just under $60 there. Keep them in mind if you are looking for parts.
bbeckers24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light again!!! bruce Problems and Solutions 21 07-29-2010 12:33 PM
My car is "chugging" and now the engine light is on! amgraham Problems and Solutions 4 11-06-2008 11:16 AM
Check Engine Light - 5 trips for repair??? shawnner Problems and Solutions 6 10-08-2008 07:42 PM
Engine Light Slickdesi Problems and Solutions 21 04-12-2008 10:25 AM
05 G6GT - check engine light - flashes then solid... mr_heritage Problems and Solutions 5 01-24-2008 03:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome