Remote Start questions - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-10-2008, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
 
Remote Start questions

Is there any way to tell if your car can use a remote starter? How hard is it to set up if so? I have a fob with the remote start button that I picked up from Ebay. Thanks.
mcdonaldland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-10-2008, 03:20 PM
Premium Member
 
KB G6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: lat: 38.897605896 N, long: 77.0365219116 W
Age: 35
Posts: 566
 
If you scroll through the menu options, there should be a menu option to turn remote start on or off if you have it. I'm not sure about how hard it is to program it unless you feel like spending $50 or so at the dealership.

Keith

2005 G6 GT

K&N drop-in filter, Pennzoil Platinum 5W-30, 50% tint all around, other than that completely stock

SOLD 11/20/2010
KB G6 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
 
I just dropped $230 bucks at the dealership to convert my 08 G6 to a remote start model. Just included labor, the key fobs and they hooked something else up to reprogram it.
Duner21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-21-2008, 11:22 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
 
best way to get remote start is factory trust me, it turns on your hvac to the setting you have it, runs for limited time and fully functional with your alarm. gm remote start is an option that can be installed by your dealer, purchase it... should come with a module, plug in harness and two fobs. and the system would be covered under your original man. warranty
gXpG608 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-26-2009, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 166
 
ok this is what i dont get.. i have a 2007 G6.. with keyless entry and no remote starter.. does the G6 need to have a module or wiring installed from factory in order for me to upgrade my keyless entry to include a remote starter?
vikz99 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2009, 06:09 PM
kristysg6
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
 
Smile

It cost me $350 at Trailblazers to have the FOB and the remote starter installed. It took them 7 hours and said it was one of the hardest they had ever installed! It was well worth it!
kristym32 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 08:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Asp86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
 
If there's a "+" sign on the back of your current remote, your vehicle is already equipped for remote start. You just need to get the proper remote to use the feature.
Asp86 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 08:28 AM
` Colleen =)
 
cmurphy725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dela-where?
Age: 31
Posts: 123
 
Send a message via AIM to cmurphy725
Most of the g6 GT's are already equipped with it. Im not sure about the G6 V6.

Colleen
08 G6 GT. Performance Red Metallic.
20%.
Griilleees
She may be getting a craab CAI soon!
cmurphy725 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 09:55 PM
Junior Member
 
Asp86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmurphy725 View Post
Most of the g6 GT's are already equipped with it. Im not sure about the G6 V6.
I have a G6 V6, and according to the manual, they are.
Asp86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
won't start from the remote daygon Problems and Solutions 10 03-14-2011 03:29 PM
Remote start hiccups CharlesP2009 Problems and Solutions 3 09-09-2006 05:44 PM
Safe to leave the AC on for remote start? CharlesP2009 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 6 09-09-2006 04:01 AM
Remote Start Problem panda9996 Problems and Solutions 10 12-08-2005 09:27 PM
behavior of remote start briandors G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 4 06-16-2005 04:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome