rattling noise on cold start up 3500v6 - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-24-2008, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
 
rattling noise on cold start up 3500v6

Recently I noticed a rattling noise coming from under the hood of my g6gt, it sounds like something is loose but nothing seems to be loose. I noticed the noise may be coming from the tenisoner, now the tenisoner has been replaced once on this engine. My question is, is it possible for the tenisoner to make this noise and are these engines notorious for having tensioner problems? These may seem like stupid questions but its kinda got my concerned a little. We have had the car for about a month and it has 63K on it.
thanks
asonofabeach69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-27-2008, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
 
what year is your car? theres a new ecm and tcm software update for this concern. its the tranny. i had it too. just did the program, noise gone. the dealer can download the software to your car for a small fee. but make sure they update both the ecm and pcm cuz the programming has to be done to both modules.
gXpG608 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-29-2008, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
 
its a 2006. the noise is a little concerning cause it sounds like a grinding noise. it just started doing it like 2 weeks ago, we have had the car for a little over a month. I hope whatever is going on inside the trans doesnt cause it to fail, I really do not want to have to replace the trans in this car. Im guessing this is a common documented problem with these cars.
asonofabeach69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-01-2009, 11:07 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
 
mines an 08, i noticed it while starting it with remote start then walking up to it. couldnt find the rattle. did find a tranny line leaking. replaced it. but i did find a tranny control module software upgrade. you can have it done at any gm dealer.
gXpG608 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
won't start from the remote daygon Problems and Solutions 10 03-14-2011 03:29 PM
White Noise While Using Aux audio GaretJax Problems and Solutions 5 09-30-2008 08:42 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome