Remote starter install problems! Help!! - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-11-2009, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
 
Remote starter install problems! Help!!

I just installed an Auto page RS-622 two way data link with a CAN-SL2 in my girlfriends 2007 g6 2.4L.
First time I have used the CAN-SL2. Seems to have done the anti-theft ok, (well, the security light stays on, but the car DOES start) Cant seem to get the CAN-SL2 to operate the door locks, or trunk. Dont know if it is seeing a tach signal or not. have the starter set to voltage start.

Also, car does weird stuff, like:
Turn the key on, then off, and the car will start. turn it back on and off, and the car will shut off. At one point, I could not get the hood pin, brake, key or button to shut the car off, I had to put it in gear and turn the key off and then it stopped. Also noticed, brake lights dont come on when brake is pressed unless key is on??? That doesnt seem correct, is it??

Should I not use the 2 way data link and long wire every thing or what???
I need a break, Its been a looooong day. THANKS
bestroken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 07:46 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Dont know anything about the rs-622. Most G6ers have the remote start
already installed it just needs to be turned on with a Tech2. Then program a couple remotes.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
 
That would be nice if it is already installed, but Im guessing it doesnt have it. The car does not have keyless entry. Power locks, but no key remotes or anything. How would I find out if it is already built in???
bestroken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 10:26 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Call your Pontiac dealer and give them the vin number. The parts desk
can tell you if it is available on that G6. if so then it would be a trip into
the dealership for some tech2 time to turn it on. Shop around as the prices are different per dealership to do that.
I would also buy the remote fobs off eBay or somewhere else for them to program if it is doable.
If you buy those from the dealership they will cost you a mint.

You can program another key (its in the manual) but you need a dealership to program a remote.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote starter makes horn honk scottbrown26 Problems and Solutions 6 11-22-2018 09:06 AM
Remote Starter add-on paroyboy G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 78 05-04-2012 06:13 PM
Remote start problems chelle Problems and Solutions 3 11-20-2008 07:35 PM
Remote keyless entry/starter problems Fusion Problems and Solutions 4 06-29-2006 07:59 PM
REmote starter for a 6 speed???? G6inAB Problems and Solutions 8 01-09-2006 06:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome