Rattle - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 06:43 AM Thread Starter

Angry Rattle

OK, as I've posted before I have this rattle that sounds like it's coming from the passenger side of the car, on a normal day only rattles while in gear. Yesterday after my husband finally decided I was not crazy because he heard the rattle as he was walking down the driveway he opend the hood. The rattle seems to be coming from (and excuse me, but I am no mechanic and neither is my husband so I'll have to describe what I was looking at) under the hood of course, but if your are staning in front of the car and look to the left of the motor (passenger side) the rattle is coming from where the belt is turning. The belt turns faster (of course) when the car is in gear which causes the metal piece that the belt is turning on to rattle. Can anyone give me somemore technical terms for this? I'm calling the dealership today, to see if maybe this time they'll take the time to look at it. Has anyone else noticed this?

Also, my car is sometimes hard to start. I know this has been discussed before, about not having the key turned all the way, but I have the key turned all the way and the car acts like it wants to start but it seems to struggle. Also, it doesn't seem to idle quietly and smooth all the time, sometimes it acts like it wants to die and then the RPM's jump way up to get it idle again. Anyone else notice these problems?

My G6 GT only has 4400 miles on it. My husband seems to think I being a little too picky, but this is not my 1st brand new car, so I know they are not suppose to be like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 08:04 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robyn P