TPM Sensors - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
ASE expert
 
jayram1408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 67
 
Garage
Talking TPM Sensors

So the light came on for the TPM (tire pressure monitor) that yellow triangle. The right rear quit working. So a little research, just about most GM vehicles from 2005 to 2010 that use Schrader brand TPM sensors 95% of them are interchangeable. You can install them yourself with minimal tools and even program them with your key fob. First take your tire off and remove the valve stem core. Be sure to put your hand on it when removing or it will launch to never be seen again. After all the air is out take a fairly long 2x4 and put it under the frame of the car. Place a small block of wood where the tire is by the TPM. What you are gonna do is break the outer seal of the tire. So you can push down and take it out and put in the other one. They unscrew from the outside with a wrench, then slide into the rim.your gonna use leverage to break the top seal (one facing towards everyone and not the inner fender). Once you swap them out, fill your tire. Better have a decent compressor or forget it. It will pop and is kinda loud but youll be ok. A little soap water on the bead helps too. Just don't get in the tire or you'll get some real weird vibrations next time you drive it. After the tire is on your car now programming the TPM sensors. You can also do this after rotating tires. Start by sitting in the car with key in the on position, but not started. Press and hold the LOCK and UNLOCK buttons simultaneously for a few seconds, then release, you will hear the horn honk twice and the front driver turn signal light will come on, on the fender. Indicating this is the first tire to set. This system takes a sample of the air pressure every 30 seconds. If it notices a change of more than 1.2 lbs while in program mode it will chirp once indicating that tire has been successfully "paired" in that #1 position. then the passenger turn signal will come on and the driver goes off. repeat this procedure in this order, front driver, front passenger, rear passenger, rear driver. Once the rear driver is done that one will double honk. Thus exiting program mode. If any one of your tires fail to honk during this procedure, you still have a bad sensor and it will have to be replaced. If you do this and have a bad sensor, you can shut the key off and it will exit this mode. WARNING if you do not pair all four tires NONE will work now till you PAIR ALL FOUR. You will just see "dashes" (-----) on the readout where the pressure reading used to be on the info center for each tire.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Car TPM.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	38.2 KB
ID:	13539  

Last edited by jayram1408; 10-23-2018 at 11:27 PM.
jayram1408 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
ASE expert
 
jayram1408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 67
 
Garage
Oh this is just info only, but your more than welcome to leave comments or questions.
jayram1408 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-31-2018, 05:38 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 11
 
Nice write up! It still seems a little intimidating breaking that seal.
tidal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-31-2018, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
ASE expert
 
jayram1408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 67
 
Garage
Wink

It's not too bad. As long as you only pop the top seal you shouldn't have to get your tire rebalanced. You can always take it to a tire shop and have them either dismount it or replace it for you. Just do not let them charge you the ridiculous amount to "flash" it to the computer. That's the whole purpose of this post. Info on pairing, reprogramming, flashing, whatever term you may use to get the TPM's to connect to your car and in the right location for a repair or tire rotation. Yes you have to do this when you rotate tires or it might tell you the front left is low and it's really the rear.
jayram1408 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Camshaft Position Sensors jpopson43 Problems and Solutions 21 08-31-2015 01:09 PM
How to install back up sensors?? BG1 Car Audio, Video and Security 3 03-06-2010 05:37 AM
install new tire sensors? mreaglejr Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 5 06-14-2009 01:11 PM
Tire sensors ryansg6 Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 10 06-01-2009 07:17 PM
Ruber valve stems with TPMS (tire sensors) bri2203 Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 3 11-30-2008 07:33 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome