My G6 won't start - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 73
 
My G6 won't start

My G6 just couldn't start after I went to gas up on a local gas station so the car got towed away back to the dealership. I just got a call they said the fuse blew up and it prevent the car from starting but I'm picking up the car tonight lets hope it doesn't happen again!
Redsun_ty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 03:14 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 39
 
the fuse....blew up? I've never heard of exploding fuses. What fuse would cause the car not to start?
carsuperfreak is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 423
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsuperfreak
the fuse....blew up? I've never heard of exploding fuses. What fuse would cause the car not to start?

maybe he was refering to the 'fuse' on the end of a stick of DYNAMITE!!!

that would explain the 'blowing up', would it not?
G6Action is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 532
 
Fuses that can cause no start...

ECM
Fuel Injectors
Ignition
Fuel Pump

I can actually think of a ton of them...
S8ER99 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 05:31 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
 
also, if you open the fuse box, there's one MEGA fuse there that ties the entire car to the battery...if that goes, it's as goood as there being no battery.
ragingfish is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 05:34 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 279
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingfish
also, if you open the fuse box, there's one MEGA fuse there that ties the entire car to the battery...if that goes, it's as goood as there being no battery.
Hate to disagree with you but that Megafuse is actually just for the power steering module
e2helper is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 532
 
haha.. I bet that thing draws a couple amps to say the least.
S8ER99 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 06:45 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by e2helper
Hate to disagree with you but that Megafuse is actually just for the power steering module
Hmm, I don't have a mega fuse, I feel ripped...(goes out and enjoys not locking up his steering cause he's got HYDRAULIC steering )
miscreant is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 532
 
Bah.. I wish I didn't have a mega fuse.
S8ER99 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2005, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 73
 
All right maybe the fuses didn't blew up. The invoice said " found no power AT -S -Terminal when Crank. Found starter fuse #26 open. Checked circuit #6 and found circuit Rub through at AC LINE. REPAIRED CIRCUIT #6 AND REPLACE FUSE TO CORRECT (7J)"
Redsun_ty is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 04:26 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 423
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by miscreant
Hmm, I don't have a mega fuse, I feel ripped...(goes out and enjoys not locking up his steering cause he's got HYDRAULIC steering )
i HATE you!!!!!
G6Action is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 07:19 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 28
 
Does anyone know if there are any aftermarket "megafuses" available yet. I want to upgrade mine.
Ralphy is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 07:32 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by G6Action
i HATE you!!!!!
What are you complaining about, you have a GTR! That's two steps above mine: There's a GTP, GTQ, then the GTR.
miscreant is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 04:21 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 423
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by miscreant
What are you complaining about, you have a GTR! That's two steps above mine: There's a GTP, GTQ, then the GTR.

no, the way i see it i'm just 'further down the line'........maybe i should change my designation to a 'GTA'?
G6Action is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 09:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 279
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsun_ty
All right maybe the fuses didn't blew up. The invoice said " found no power AT -S -Terminal when Crank. Found starter fuse #26 open. Checked circuit #6 and found circuit Rub through at AC LINE. REPAIRED CIRCUIT #6 AND REPLACE FUSE TO CORRECT (7J)"
No you are correct, fuse that "blew" was for the starter solenoid relay. The opening of a fuse is a pretty powerful event - it just stays contained within the fuse itself - you do hear a pretty crisp "POP" when one goes though.

Last edited by e2helper; 12-01-2005 at 09:24 PM.
e2helper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome