Radio only displaying CD text for the first few tracks.. - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-27-2005, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
Radio only displaying CD text for the first few tracks..

Anyone know why the track names of only the first few songs on burnt CDs are displayed on the radio? I can't figure it out. For maybe the first 7 or 8 songs I get the tracknames, and the rest of them just display the track number and time.

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-27-2005, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 113
 
assuming they are downloaded from something like napster-- they all (each song)weren't encoded with the title or artist when they were "shared"... I have a few CDs I burned and they are like that.
Bob G is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-27-2005, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
yea but if I were to rearrange the tracks, reburn the CD, then the first few tracks will still be shown. It's not an issue with how the songs were encoded. The radio just doesn't show the CD text when you get past something like track 7. It's different on every CD, sometimes it'll be until track 6 or 8.

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-27-2005, 06:34 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 142
 
I have also had the same problem, they play fine but once u get past 7 or so it does stop naming the tracks, also sometimes if you go to fast thru songs it wont show them either... hmm odd
SimplyRed is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-2005, 02:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
 
I'll look for this.

What radio do you have? I have the 6 cd changer. Also, are these CDs copies of CDs or a bunch of wav files thrown on it?

Honestly, I didn't even notice the thing showed the song title so I'll take a look at it tonight.
Lucius is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-2005, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
I have the radio with the 6-disc changer. And the CDs are audio CDs with MP3 files on them. Not MP3 CDs, regular audio CDs.

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-2005, 08:40 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 142
 
ditto for me as well.. never thought about the WMA file, but even so if they play they should still show the title!
SimplyRed is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-29-2005, 08:40 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTPGuy82
And the CDs are audio CDs with MP3 files on them. Not MP3 CDs, regular audio CDs.
I'm sorry, I have no idea what you are talking about here. "Audio CDs with MP3 files on them?"

I haven't been able to make my player display track names at all, so maybe if you can tell me how you've been doing that I can check. Also, all the CDs in my car are copies. I learned my lesson after having all of them stolen in the spring.
Lucius is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2005, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 169
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius
I'm sorry, I have no idea what you are talking about here. "Audio CDs with MP3 files on them?"

I haven't been able to make my player display track names at all, so maybe if you can tell me how you've been doing that I can check.

When you burn MP3 files onto a CD in audio format, you can edit the header for the file which includes track title, artist, and album title. The CD player reads that info and displays it.

Mine is like everybody elses. The info displays automatically for a few tracks, then stops. After that, you have to press "DISP" to get the info to cycle on the display.
otcpharm is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2005, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by otcpharm
When you burn MP3 files onto a CD in audio format, you can edit the header for the file which includes track title, artist, and album title. The CD player reads that info and displays it.

Mine is like everybody elses. The info displays automatically for a few tracks, then stops. After that, you have to press "DISP" to get the info to cycle on the display.
Pressing DISP doesn't even work for me. You know what's funny, I was listening to some older CDs that I burned a while ago, and all the names showed up on the display. I think it has something to do with the CD. Right now I'm using Memorex and I'm having the problem. The older CDs were a different type, not sure if they were the same brand or not, but definitely not the ones I'm using now.

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2005, 08:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by otcpharm
When you burn MP3 files onto a CD in audio format, you can edit the header for the file which includes track title, artist, and album title. The CD player reads that info and displays it.
Are you talking about the ID3 tags? I didn't even know the thing could play MP3s. Have to check that out.
Lucius is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 169
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius
Are you talking about the ID3 tags? I didn't even know the thing could play MP3s. Have to check that out.
It doesn't play MP3s. I said "When you burn MP3 files onto a CD in audio format", not in data format.
otcpharm is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 169
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTPGuy82
Pressing DISP doesn't even work for me. You know what's funny, I was listening to some older CDs that I burned a while ago, and all the names showed up on the display.

Mike
Now it's getting interesting.

I've got several different brands of discs and they all do the same thing, and the DISP button works for them all.

I noticed last night that if I let it play through the later tracks, the info doesn't show, but if I page through them with the skip button, the track info shows up.

Curiouser and curiouser.
otcpharm is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by otcpharm
It doesn't play MP3s. I said "When you burn MP3 files onto a CD in audio format", not in data format.

I don't mean to be an ass, but MP3 is an audio format. That's where the confusion came for me.

So I'm assuming then that you have been converting the MP3s to wavs?

I'm just trying to get clarification. So the player only displays info for "mix CDs" if you will, not a copied CD or a regular CD? It has to be a CD you created yourself, track by track?
Lucius is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 169
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius
I don't mean to be an ass, but MP3 is an audio format. That's where the confusion came for me.

So I'm assuming then that you have been converting the MP3s to wavs?

I'm just trying to get clarification. So the player only displays info for "mix CDs" if you will, not a copied CD or a regular CD? It has to be a CD you created yourself, track by track?
MP3 is merely a lossy compression scheme - MPEG Audio Layer 3 - that is applied to an audio file. It functions is a fashion similar to the base MPEG (MPG videos). Hence, it is technically a data format.

You can burn MP3 files to disc in two ways - as audio or as data. Since we seem to be arguing semantics, I'll remove the shortcuts - the raw audio data that was ripped and compressed into an MP3 file is rewritten onto a CD as uncompressed CD audio, not as the native MP3 data file.

No, they are not being converted to wav files - the CD player can't read those any more than it can MP3 files. They are being burned back onto the CD as CD audio. The software doing the burning uncompresses the MP3 and converts the analog audio data back into the original digital form as it is written onto the CD.

As to the "mix CDs" question, that is correct as far as I have seen. None of my original (purchased) CDs have supplied data, but that doesn't mean they don't exist - others may have newer CDs that provide song data.
otcpharm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Problems and Solutions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome