Wheel Hub question - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-29-2017, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
 
Wheel Hub question

I have a 2006 G6 sedan V6 3.5L base model. I love my G6 and want to know as much as I can about it to be able to repair it and maintain it myself. My wheel hubs have gone out in both front wheels (not now, but one was a year ago and the other was 6 months ago). For future reference, I would like to change them myself. Seems easy to do. I just want to know if the wheel hub on my model of car has the ABS wire clip on the wheel hub or not. I search for wheel hubs for my car and come up with a regular wheel hub, slide the old one off and slide the new one on. The other one has a wire with a clip on the end. I would like to know from more experienced people on here if my model of car takes just a regular wheel hub and maybe give some explanation on what the wheel hub with the wire clip attached to it is.
flint879 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 08:12 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,019
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
Pretty sure if your car has ABS you would need the hub with the wire. The other should be for no ABS.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-23-2018, 08:19 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
 
You can just look at it and see if it has the abs wire or not. If it's a gt 3.5 it has about and will have the wire as well as the front rotor bigger, base model 3.5 have smaller rotors and as far as I know do not have 4 wheel abs.
As far changing the hub yourself, it's fairly simple, but you better make sure you get the hub nut torqued on exactly to spec (not sure what the g6 is, my avalanche is around 190lbs ft) if you are too loose or too tight it will cause the hubs to go out fast.
Plexlove is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-24-2018, 08:29 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
If you have traction control or ABS (you'll see an ABS light on the dash at startup) then you have the wheel speed sensor in the bearing and need the one with the wire.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > General Maintenance

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help asap...brake wheel hub assembly...I don't know what the problem is... IvanPeru Problems and Solutions 1 10-22-2015 09:07 PM
Front Wheel Hub Bearing...what brand Frankd Problems and Solutions 4 08-04-2014 01:51 PM
06 GTP MT Axel and Hub Replacement Question G6GTP2006NH General Maintenance 0 06-18-2014 05:09 PM
Wheel Bearing or Hub? AGP5000 Problems and Solutions 7 01-15-2011 04:04 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome