Transmission fluid? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By boomer
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
My2ndCar-My1stG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
 
Transmission fluid?

So the car just hit 125k the other day. It's a 2008 g6 gt 3.5L v6. I'm looking into changing the fluid myself. There is a DIY garage in my city that I will be using their lift.

However my concern is how much fluid will I be needing to change it out? I'm pulling the pan and changing the filter. I have read just about every thread on here and ive seen 5 quarts up to 9 quarts.

I can only find the fluid in gallons. So I think buying 2 gallon containers would be the safest bet. I also have read that there is an overfill bolt somewhere that will determine how much fluid to put in.

I'm trying to figure out what to use to catch all the fluid to accurately measure how much fluid has been drained.

Also theres mixed reviews on replacing and reusing the old gasket. Some say the best idea ia to reuse the old gasket for least change of springing a fluid leak. Others say to replace with a new one for best results.
My2ndCar-My1stG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
My2ndCar-My1stG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
 
I plan on doing the fluid change Wednesday
My2ndCar-My1stG6 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 02:25 PM
2007 gt retractable
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: charlotte nc
Posts: 266
 
the haynes manual says 6.9 -9.5 depending which trans you have.
zenish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: RTP Area, NC
Posts: 318
 
There may also be some useful information on this thread
https://www.chevymalibuforum.com/thr...-weekend.7641/

If you plan to measure and refill, any large enough container will do. You can pour the contents into an old oil container with marking on it or use a measuring jug (top tip, not one from your better half's kitchen as you will not be forgiven if they find out). I decided to reuse the old gasket as I had no leaks and it looked to be in good shape. I have had no issues since the fluid change.

Good luck with it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	g6 Transmission 4t45-E Fluid Capacity.png
Views:	26
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	14005  
zenish likes this.
boomer is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 08:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
 
I did mine back in February. It's definitely more than 6.9 quarts with a pan drop and filter change on the 4T45E. I went ahead and replaced the old gasket with the same OE style (rubber coated metal).
DeathKnight is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 101
 
Garage
I have a 2006 and a 2007 manual and both call for .5 liters and/or .5 quarts more for the pan removal procedure.
Convertme is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 101
 
Garage
looks like i might find out first hand. left home this morning to do a road trip. had to go home after 40 minutes of driving because the service traction light had come on. got home ok but sitting idling sounds likes steel r rings jingling in a shaft and when i shift t through reverse to drive it goes clung real hard
Convertme is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 05:14 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
 
Just did this job a few days ago. 4T45E, new gasket and 9 qts, 12 oz.
bear52 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-26-2019, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
My2ndCar-My1stG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
 
Do I need a new gasket? The filter I ordered didnt come with a new gasket. I still need to order another gallon of fluid.
My2ndCar-My1stG6 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-26-2019, 10:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
 
If the existing gasket is the rubber coated metal one and looks to be in good shape still then there shouldn't be an issue with reusing it.
DeathKnight is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 05:27 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
 
My old one was rubber and the filter came with a new one, so, I put the new one one.
bear52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > General Maintenance

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome