Remote Starter - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-01-2010, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
 
Remote Starter

I'm having problems with my remote starter as well as the unlock/lock feature. I thought that maybe the battery was dead but I took the battery out and tested it and it registered as 3 Volts. Anyone else with this problem? This is a new car and it worked perfect when I bought it.
G6GTBlondie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 08:13 AM
Member
 
BillyJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 46
 
Sounds like the remote should be working, is the car responding at all? Any flashing lights? With both remotes?

Check the DIC on your stereo, make sure everything is enabled.

Some people have mentioned the remotes may need to be programmed or synced with the car. Not sure how to do that, some say press and hold the lock button.

To get my remote start to work I had to change my hood latch (sensor), after I replaced it I had to disconnect the battery to clear the system to get it to work. You may want to try that.

Good luck
BillyJack is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 03:47 PM
Member
 
roberts5831's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 47
 
my remote did the same thing and i changed the battery anyway. at first it wouldnt work, and then the next morning it worked perfectally.

i love
roberts5831 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 05:03 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4
 
You tested the terminals and they registered as 3 volts? It should be 12.3 volts roughly.
g34rh34d is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 06:45 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
 
I'm having a similar problem. My 2006 G6 remote starter only works once. When I try to remote start it a second time (to get it extra warm and defrosted) the parking lights flash and it doesn't start. This happens on a number of occasions. At first I looked into the hood latch fix, but since mine starts the first time, I'm not sure what to do. If there's an inexpensive fix, I'd rather do that than take it to the dealer. Any ideas?
smuscat1 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portage, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 638
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g34rh34d View Post
You tested the terminals and they registered as 3 volts? It should be 12.3 volts roughly.
i think they mean that they tested the battery in the remote which would be about right if thats what they meant.

2008 Pontiac G6 GT Dark Gray Metalic
Bought Feb 28 2009 with 24k miles now has 130k miles RIP Baby death snowplow 1-30-11
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4757

Carbon Black Metalic 2009 G6 GXP Coupe
Bought Oct 8 2010 with 35 miles

Mods so far: every single performance mod and a whole lot more, fastest NA G6
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7974

1/4 mile: [email protected] 109.23

Performance Red Metalic 2009 G6 GXP coupe
bought june 29 2012 with 3400 miles

Mods: RACE CAR- full race fuel setup and in the process of converting to RWD with a 6spd manual trans
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=13140
1/4 mile: [email protected] 101.95
SexyG6 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 09:28 AM
Member
 
roberts5831's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 47
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuscat1 View Post
I'm having a similar problem. My 2006 G6 remote starter only works once. When I try to remote start it a second time (to get it extra warm and defrosted) the parking lights flash and it doesn't start. This happens on a number of occasions. At first I looked into the hood latch fix, but since mine starts the first time, I'm not sure what to do. If there's an inexpensive fix, I'd rather do that than take it to the dealer. Any ideas?
smus, do you have a check engine light lit on your dash? mine did the same thing and it turns out i had a faulty gas cap which registered as a leak in my EVAP system.

i love
roberts5831 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 11:21 AM
Premium Member
 
KB G6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: lat: 38.897605896 N, long: 77.0365219116 W
Age: 35
Posts: 566
 
If you have a check engine light the remote start wouldn't work in the first time either. So don't think it's that.

Keith

2005 G6 GT

K&N drop-in filter, Pennzoil Platinum 5W-30, 50% tint all around, other than that completely stock

SOLD 11/20/2010
KB G6 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-26-2010, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
reverttheclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 911
 
Garage
when i bought my 6 used the keyfob didn't work too well so i switched out the battery of course it wasn't that so theres 6 bucks down the drain...turned out it just needed to be synched to my car by the dealer...it KIND OF worked (only way i can explain it...i had to push real hard for i think the lock button to work and the others didn't at all) but once they synched it it worked great

2006 Pontiac G6 V6 3500L
Crimson Red
reverttheclown is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 11:20 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
 
Maybe someone can help me... So my remote starter only works if I cut the car on the turn to acc quickly, press lock on the fob and then take the key out and do the standard remote starter procedure... When I normally press lock and then the remote start button I get flashing lights... is this some sort of fuse fix? I cant afford to pay an additional $200 to fix if I can avoid it.
lloydzachary is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-22-2011, 03:07 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Is your Check engine light on?
When mine was on I could still lock and unlock the doors, but it wouldn't start, only flash the lights. Once the check engine light was off everything worked fine.

and as stated, check the settings through the DIC in the stereo. just press menu and look for remote start. For some reason you can turn the option off.

If everything except the start is working it sounds like it's just turned off or the CEL.

Also when you checked the battery in the remote was the little metal piece it clips into soldered correctly? Mine came apart after a year and i had to go and re-solder it all together
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-23-2011, 07:01 PM
Sparky
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
 
I am willing to bet that its a problem with the rubber keypad. If you open the key fob up and look at the back of the rubber keypad youll notice there are little carbon pads on the back of each button. These, for some reason, wear out over time and lose their conductive properties. Ive fixed my wifes with some double sided tape and tiny pieces of alum foil (cheesey i know but hey it worked perfect). You can purchase rubber keypads on ebay or even call up ur local scrapper they might have some. 9 times out of 10 if some of the buttons work and some do not, this is the problem...


edit - wow just noticed original post was old as hell LOL...ohh well might help somebody
androoze is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 02:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
 
The only thing that worked on my remote was the panic button. I went to keyless fix and ordered the pad that goes in the remote and it works perfectly now.
Shawng is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 08:11 AM
Member
 
G-Sixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 43
 
Post is old but I had the same problem.

My battery clips were just floating in the fobs so I soldered them back in place. I also noticed the stroke of the rubber buttons seemed a bit long like I was literally sticking my finger into it If I wasn't conscious of the need to do this at the time it wouldn't work. So as previously stated I too came up with a cheesy remedy.

I took a small styrofoam cup and cut a shim out of it and placed it between the back cover of the fob and the battery side of the circuit board. Now it works perfectly and i don't have to stick my finger through the damn thing anymore. I suspect the carbon pads are worn down as well but things have worked well for a few weeks now


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
G-Sixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > General Maintenance

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote starter makes horn honk scottbrown26 Problems and Solutions 6 11-22-2018 09:06 AM
Remote Starter add-on paroyboy G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 78 05-04-2012 06:13 PM
Remote Starter ROSERED Problems and Solutions 11 08-10-2009 10:09 AM
Remote starter install problems! Help!! bestroken Problems and Solutions 3 01-12-2009 10:26 AM
REmote starter for a 6 speed???? G6inAB Problems and Solutions 8 01-09-2006 06:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome