Horrible Paint - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-14-2007, 08:19 AM Thread Starter

Horrible Paint

Does anyone else have the same horrible paint that I do? Here are a few examples.

1. Terrible Orange Peel. We all know GM is famous for it, my car just seems to have it in abundance. I had it rubbed out at the dealer, however, it's still pretty bad.

2. Streaking.... now this might be my fault but I've been cleaning cars well for 10+ years. My Grand Am's were spotless, but I can't seem to get the streaks out of this clear coat after I have waxed it. A clay bar seemed to help it a bit, but when the wax was reapplied the streaking came back.

3. Dirt settled under the paint. Certainly this happened at the factory, and it took some wet sanding to rub out. With only 5mm of clear coat to work with according to the guage at PPG, I couldn't ever wet sand it again, to say nothing for using a high speed wheel.

So, does anyone else have these problems, and if so, how did you remedy them?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 09:50 AM Thread Starter

Alright, Shawns right, we do need more activity around here.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-25-2007, 06:39 AM

This is exactly what I was talking about. I'm glad I'm not the only one seeing it, although that still doesn't help the problem.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 05:30 PM
06 GTP + 04 Grand Am GT

Send a message via AIM to Insane Skippy Send a message via MSN to Insane Skippy
Wow that's terrible

I can't really say much about my paint because I bought my car used. It has scratches everywhere

I'll try to see if I can find more information on this for you.
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-14-2007, 07:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudG6Owner