Question on CAI's - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Perfessor
 
Perfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 177
 
Garage
Question on CAI's

I'm seriously thinking of switching to a CAI in my 07 G6 (I'll be talking to Lampoon when I save up some more $$), but the various mechanics that I've spoken to about them say that there are lots of adjustments that would have to made to the engine to have it work properly.

Other than their statements getting them out of having to do a bit of work, how much truth is in what they say?

Are there many adjustments to be made after install? I used to be a backyard mechanic, but that was on older cars where you could climb in the engine compartment to do your work. Now, it 10 pounds of $#!^ in a 5 pound bag. Drop a wrench and it gets lost, lol.

Any and all comments/suggestions welcome.

Perfessor
Perfessor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 04:58 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
do you have the 3.5 in your GT?

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
Perfessor
 
Perfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 177
 
Garage
Truth to tell, I'm not sure, LOL. It reads 3900 on top of the engine. I never actually thought to verify what it is, besides being a V6. How can I check to be sure?
Perfessor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 11:50 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
You just confirmed. You have the 3.9 V6.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 11:51 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
3900 its a 3.9 the V6's have no problem adjusting to CAI's. no adjustments necessary.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 11:51 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
aahh! cruisin was quicker on the draw.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 01:20 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Haha. But at least now we know there are no adjustments for the 3.9!
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Perfessor
 
Perfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 177
 
Garage
So then, technically, it's plug-n-play??
Perfessor is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 02:39 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Yup!
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
Perfessor
 
Perfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 177
 
Garage
Sweet!! I know what I'm getting soon.

Now for a newbie style dumb question - what is an FPU? I've been reading all through here and trying to figure out the acronym (i.e. cel -check engine light, cab - cold air box) but I've not seen that one spelt out yet.
Perfessor is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:13 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
Front Pipe Upgrade Its the nicer pipe vs the stock plastic one we've got

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 09:20 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Im always late to the party. lol

Your stock pipe has a few squeezes in it. Look at the 90 off the TBI.
Also look in front at the indents - like the one for your dipstick.
Air can only flow at the rate the smallest point will allow (choke point).

The FPU is basically a mandrel bent true 3" connection from your TBI to your MAF.

It allows 24% more air to flow over stock.

Keep in mind the G6 is not a race car so there isnt a huge difference but users report more torque on the lower end.....and well....there is that Bling factor! lol

Its for people who want to get all they can from an intake.

K&N mke a nice front pipe but their heat shield is horrible.
Injen is a 2.7" system which is smaller than your TBI so its a hit from the get go.
Crabs- stay away from them - they itch.

There are a few cheap eBay options but you get what you pay for.
There are mixed reviews on them. Some say they work...others say they are junk.

The V6 engines adapt well to an intake. Get one!

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-25-2013, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Perfessor
 
Perfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 177
 
Garage
Lampoon, I plan on it. Just gotta save up for it. Still saving up for my front/rear LEDs (about $120 for the ones with a built in load).
Perfessor is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-03-2013, 11:57 AM
Junior Member
 
Dextar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
 
Dextar is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-04-2013, 04:04 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Of course an intake on a skyline makes no difference in a shop where the temperature is a constant.
The G6 intake isn't one smooth pipe. It has restrictions to make room for other parts and that alone slows things down. A CAI is plenty effective when you go out for a drive, say early morning with cooler air out. You'll not only feel a difference but you'll see it in MPG.

Cooler air is more dense. More oxygen molecules to mix with the atomized fuel. Making a more complete combustion cycle and producing just that much more power. Plus the consistant diameter smooth tubing does quite a bit just to aid in airflow to the engine, which in an N/A setup is worth it at WOT.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about CAI and exhuast. HELP please Ksquared Powertrain Performance Modifications 10 07-12-2012 03:16 AM
CAI help???? J dog Powertrain Performance Modifications 5 11-01-2011 10:58 AM
Question about Intake Manifolds, NOT CAI's!! TheGXP08 Powertrain Performance Modifications 12 01-25-2010 10:58 PM
CAI question, please forgive ezwider Powertrain Performance Modifications 1 08-18-2009 04:13 AM
Typical nOOb CAI question.. MWM777 Powertrain Performance Modifications 3 05-25-2008 11:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome