Has anyone used a volt/fuel stabilizer? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 08:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
Has anyone used a volt/fuel stabilizer?

My co-worker was telling me he bought a volt/fuel stabilizer for his car just for the heck of it to see if it worked. It is a universal part and fits all vehicles. Surprisingly he said he noticed an increase in gas mileage by 2-3miles and the car running slightly different (better). He does own an older vehicle so maybe that's why...just my guess. NOW i'm curious to purchase one, but I feel like it would be a waste of money. I searched ebay and youtube and found what he was talking about. I have the links below. I would like some input on what you G6er's think ( I personally think these type of parts/upgrade are a joke, but only one way to find out )

Ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trks...at=0&_from=R40

YouTube Installation:
USMC0311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 08:26 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
I've got a Raizin Voltage Stabilizer on my car. I can't say that I notice any significant difference, if any.
I'm still running the OEM AC Delco battery, and the car is an '09 so maybe it's helping it last a long time?
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
My car is bone stock. I just keep up with maintenance. I still haven't got new tires, which i need and notice that my mpg is not what it's suppose to be due to the tires. But I will def invest in a voltage stabilizer. Did you purchase yours off ebay?
USMC0311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 11:57 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Yea I did. Got a red one with an led readout
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marine Corps Air Station New River, Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 290
 
its just about the same thing as the grounding kit you can get from racing line. they have one for about $50
wizardsrok24 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 07:05 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
You think it would be a good idea to run the led readout to the interior of the car and maybe stick it on the dash below the steering wheel?...I'm not so sure about leaving it around all the heat under the hood.
USMC0311 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 12:03 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Mine sits on top of the battery itself and has had no problems. I'd try to keep it as close to the battery as possible.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
Thanks a lot for the input! I def will.
USMC0311 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 03:19 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
No problem. I should unhook mine next fill up and see what happens.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 02:52 AM
TC...yea hit that button
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 31
Posts: 99
 
It's a big capacitor to hook up inline on the positive battery cable. On a stock vehicle, I can see improvements to be had with this thing. Upgrade battery/starting/charging system cables and this stabilizer becomes pointless.

Racingline grounding kit would be better spent money IMO. Or make the cables yourself and hook them up. 2 of the bell housing bolts are common grounds for battery, starter, and engine wiring. Hook up a nice thick cable to these and ground it to chassis(NOT subframe, it's mounted on rubber bushings). Hook up another supplemental ground somewhere close to the alternator and you will see similar improvements to what this capacitor may do for you.

Last edited by DomestikDemon; 05-07-2014 at 03:07 AM.
DomestikDemon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken stabilizer bar? Pimpin007 Problems and Solutions 11 05-23-2013 06:00 PM
No Fuel? marlin60 Problems and Solutions 13 07-04-2011 12:04 AM
How to change front stabilizer links forgotn Car Audio, Video and Security 8 02-22-2011 10:08 PM
Fuel filter? kimmer General Maintenance 6 08-20-2010 08:30 AM
Fuel Filter Gunia General Maintenance 12 06-29-2009 06:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome