Help with tune on 2010 2.4 ecotech! - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
 
Help with tune on 2010 2.4 ecotech!

Hey everyone, I've for a 2010 G6 with the 2.4 Ecotec motor which usually only comes in the base models? Weird thing is my G is all power seats windows moonroof etc, leather seats,body kit factory 17 inch chrome wheels on star xm Etc anyways, I have been trying to find what I can do to install a cold air intake I've heard it takes a tune? I don't care what it costs just wanna do it... Thanks
G6dubvee304 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 12:54 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Welcome. I wonder if your car was ordered with those specific specs by the first owner.
Do you have the flex-fuel engine?
My 2.4 has 3" intake that required a tune to fix.
If you buy something like an injen intake you can avoid the check engine light as they have a smaller maf adapter that's closer to stock. Are you looking to shove a 3" in there like I did?
There is a maf adapter that'll work without a tune as well.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
 
Yeah mines the flex fuel, idc really what size I just wanna do it and do it right
G6dubvee304 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-24-2014, 01:24 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
You can get the car tuned for 93 octane, or 91 depending on your area, and get more power that way. Then have the tune written to accommodate a 3" intake.

I found a way to run an intake without getting a check engine light.
Here's a thread about it:
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=13053

There's multiple ways to go about tuning your car. I ended up having to updated my tune as the first tune I got for it didn't compensate well for the larger sized intake, I'm sure they could have fixed the issue but I'm pretty sure I would need to drive out to them and that's not in the budget.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tune-up wesuhlee General Maintenance 25 02-20-2017 09:17 AM
HIN-NOPI 2010 SUPERSHOW SOLDIER FIELD, CHICAGO ILLINOIS September 25, 2010 mcwheels Off-Topics 0 09-15-2010 10:05 AM
HIN-NOPI 2010 SUPERSHOW LOS ANGELES CONVENTION CENTER September 18, 2010 mcwheels The West 0 08-20-2010 08:18 AM
ECM Tune for 2010 2.4l? G6LVR10 Powertrain Performance Modifications 1 07-27-2010 07:13 PM
Dyno tune v.s. PCM Tune Speed Racer 4 Powertrain Performance Modifications 16 10-26-2009 05:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome