Custom Intake Question - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-27-2010, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
Custom Intake Question

I'm making a custom intake and was wondering if i move the maf sensor closer to the tb will i throw a cel light and run lean?
Carmine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 07:37 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
airflow should be the same....the air dynamic doesnt change.
I think it would be alright. If it does then move it back.

...are you trying to shorten your intake? Most who move it put it in the quarter.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
Yeah im trying to make it as short as possible to achieve the best throttle response and low end torque ... thanks btw i aprechiate the quick response
Carmine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 08:59 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,044
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
but youll be taking in HOT engine air!!

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 10:05 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
He is right...there is no place to tunnel it anywhere over there
or shield it....even if you made a box off the TBI & used your small battery breather tube
(that vents off harmfull battery gases) as an air tube- its just too small.

Pop a hood on an Impala and look at how they did it on their 3.5.
It ticks me off they didnt do that for the G6.

but alas....I wish you luck! Lengthening the MAF wires has been done many times with no issues.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-29-2010, 01:50 AM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
@waterfowler76-im not worried about taking in hot air cause there is no place to sheild it from it anyways since the engine bay is so cramped so im just going to make it take in as much air as quickly as it can. Plus im not looking to put it into my wheel well a mile away and risk hydro lock.

@lampoon-thanks for the good wishes and it would have been nice if they put the intake where the battery was and the battery where the intake is ...
Carmine is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-30-2010, 04:25 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
as it is in the Impala...

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 01:32 AM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
@lampoon-yeah the same as they put it in the impala ... guess thats why they went out ...
Carmine is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
just a quick update i did the custom intake and now im running lean codes so when i get a chance im going to throw the stock intake back on and just leave off the resonator ... i really hate maf sensors!
Carmine is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 04:01 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Its not your MAF sensor...its the crappy intake.
What year, engine and model G6 do u have?

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 05:12 AM
Fried like a Cheese Stick
 
Droptop Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Age: 53
Posts: 1,035
 
Pics or ban!

Whether it worked or not

09 White Diamond Tricoat 'vert here!

Now with CRABs, STBs, & The Heart Ruling The Mind!


Odd random pics on my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001119651822
Droptop Diamond is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 11:31 PM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
@lampoon-i was not saying there a problem with the maf its doing it job and reading that to much air is going into the engine ... thus giving me a check engine light and running lean ... i appreciate the help but you dont need to call an intake i made myself crappy thanks ... oh yeah i have a 2006 gtp with the 3.9 ...

@droptopdiamond-ill try to get a pick of it ...
Carmine is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-17-2010, 03:55 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I dont need to call an intake you made that causes CEL's crappy?
Guess our definitions of crappy differ. Ok...Ill stay out of your thread.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-17-2010, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
Il Cavallo
 
Carmine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Age: 30
Posts: 57
 
@lampoon-its not crappy its just not tuned for the increase in air flow it creates ... you dont have to stay out of my threads ... just have some respect ...
Carmine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Intake Manifolds, NOT CAI's!! TheGXP08 Powertrain Performance Modifications 12 01-25-2010 10:58 PM
2008 G6 GT.. Intake question matts08G6GT Powertrain Performance Modifications 3 02-23-2009 11:14 AM
Cold Air Intake Question ThaTchetguitarplayer Problems and Solutions 6 02-09-2009 08:28 PM
Cold Air Intake Question? newtog6s05model Powertrain Performance Modifications 28 07-22-2008 10:20 PM
Custom Intake Blackrider Powertrain Performance Modifications 2 04-01-2006 10:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome