APC Cone Filter - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
APC Cone Filter

I just purchased an APC cone filter for my 2007 3.5 GT, after looking at a universal APC kit and ultimately deciding it wouldn't work in the cramped engine bay, i decided to just purchase the filter and hope to use the existing tubing and just remove the air box. i wanted to test it out prior to removing the air box, I disconnected the hose where the silver clamp ring was and inserted the hose into the cone filter and tightened it down with the new silver clamp ring. I started the car and it sounded like it was struggling and my TC off light came on and would no go off, regardless if I pushed the button repeatedly. What is the plastic section between the air box and the plastic hose? There appears to be a sensor there, with wires coming out of the piece. Forgive me if
i am being an absolute moron and don't know it.

Thanks,
Bradley
Ironmonger6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 05:21 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,040
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
sounds like your talking about the Mass air flow sensor. you need to keep that attached. but what you might want to look into is a heatshield for that filter, so your not sucking up warm engine air.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
Thanks for the help! i'll def look into a heat shield. I haven't opened the air filter box yet (do you really have to take out all those star bolts?) but I thought about somehow using the existing box as a heat shield. So how do you keep the mass air flow sensor intact? from what I can tell where the sensor housing connects to the air box, the connection is not round. Which would make it hard to attach a round filter to it...
Ironmonger6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 07:18 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,040
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
after you disconnect it you'll see that it is round. but i think youll need a coupler for the air filter to attach...heres a pic of mine with the crabs heat shield.



and yes you do have to remove the star screws....and after you get this done search around and youll find info on removing your intake resonator, it will free up some air for your intake.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6

Last edited by waterfowler76; 10-04-2010 at 07:20 PM.
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 05:01 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironmonger6 View Post
... where the sensor housing connects to the air box, the connection is not round. Which would make it hard to attach a round filter to it...
I do not recommend you put an intake on the 2.4 without a tune to correct for the lean issues.

If your running the 3.5 then it is round....???

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 05:09 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
I am running the 3.5, I haven't actually separated all the parts/pieces yet, just looking from the outside it looks like an odd shape, but I'll trust the knowledge here, thanks again.
Ironmonger6 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 07:43 AM
Jimmy B.
 
jpbales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Posts: 136
 
Due to the heat issue, I myself thought about if there is a way to use the stock air box with a cone filter but I couldn't think of anything. The way the box is set up it would be difficult to cut or alter in any way much less do it in a way that doesn't look completely boot leg. I don't really have any extra money to be spending on crab intakes and heat shields and such so I left the airbox stock, got the K&N drop in filter, took out the resonator, and made a grill ram-air intake tube. It seems to work fine but I haven't found a really noticeable difference good or bad- except possibly a slightly more aggressive sounding engine, which is probably because that resonator is gone.


Jimmy



Back in BLUE
Mods: custom grill ram-air intake, stock airbox w/ K&N drop-in filter, and custom engine paint

Last edited by jpbales; 10-05-2010 at 07:46 AM.
jpbales is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
G6-Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,063
 
I find there is a noticable difference with my intake. The sound and performance, I would recommend getting the heat shield, after driving for a while I curiously open the hood to compare the difference in temperature and its quite different. Between the engine bay and the inside the heat shield so its doing its job

2008 Pontiac Sedan - 3.5 V6


Mods so far:
Sylvania Silverstars, Custom Air Intake with Heat shield , 17' Salsa Rims from FastWheels.ca, Lower Grille Chrome Accents, Windows Visors, Hood Deflector, Debadged, Silver Overlays, Eyelids, Recessed Upper Grille, Tinted Tails, GM Strut Bar

Coming Soon - In Order:
Racingline MMI
Racingline Grounding Kit

Updated: 02/22/2011

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
G6-Lover is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:09 AM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
+1 for heat shield

Lampoon, is there any benefit of getting a tune for the 3.5L with the CAI?
Abyssul is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:15 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Yes...A 93 tune on it will wake the engine up and put a big grin on your face.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
Pre Heat Shield

Ironmonger6 is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
Man... nothing like hearing the growl on a 54 degree day... My ECON dropped to 18 mpg ( will hopefully go back up after I get used to hearing the growl :0) ) surprisingly my engine temp dropped from 225 on my morning drive to the next hash mark on the scale after install.
Ironmonger6 is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
G6-Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,063
 
I love the growl on it too. When I first did mine I used to step on it just to hear it haha now I can dial the gas pedal right and it makes a nice smooth growl on accelaration.

2008 Pontiac Sedan - 3.5 V6


Mods so far:
Sylvania Silverstars, Custom Air Intake with Heat shield , 17' Salsa Rims from FastWheels.ca, Lower Grille Chrome Accents, Windows Visors, Hood Deflector, Debadged, Silver Overlays, Eyelids, Recessed Upper Grille, Tinted Tails, GM Strut Bar

Coming Soon - In Order:
Racingline MMI
Racingline Grounding Kit

Updated: 02/22/2011

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
G6-Lover is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 12:57 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
My temperature has never gone above 200 and nobody's should If it does, you need to fix it.
Abyssul is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
 
Hmmmm I'll look into it, what temps do your engines normally run at? That's odd because 225 appears to be in the middle and there's no indication on the dash that it's a high temp. Thanks for the heads up.
Ironmonger6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel filter? kimmer General Maintenance 6 08-20-2010 08:30 AM
Fuel Filter Gunia General Maintenance 12 06-29-2009 06:41 PM
Where is the oil filter? croncone General Maintenance 1 12-01-2008 03:40 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome