ODB2 Bluetooth & Android Torque - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
ODB2 Bluetooth & Android Torque

I was shopping on amazon for a car dock for my Epic 4g, awesome phone . I came across a cheap looking ODB2 bluetooth http://www.amazon.com/BLUETOOTH-DIAGNOSTIC-SCANNER-VAG-COM-SCANTOOL/dp/B003MQ89X4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=automotive&qid=1294070281&sr=8-3. Anyway I found an app on the android market call Torque that gives you real time engine info but they suggest the ScanTool or PLX Kiwi dongle. Before I go spending $100 on this has any one tried any of these devices?
gface2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 09:27 AM
Lifetime Member
 
geewhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,269
 
At first your thread looked like spam. You almost got banned!



geewhiz is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
I have an Android device as well. This would be sweeeeet!

2005 G6 SE 3.5L V6 LX9

Mods
Audio: Pioneer DEH-P6900UB / Rockford P300-1 / Bassworx GPH210BK / 2x 10" MTX 600W RMS
Appearance: Eagle Eye CCFL Halo Projectors w/ Stealth Bulbs / Oracle 6000K LED Fogs
Painted Tails & Brake Light / Xenon White LED Plate / Front Plate Removed / Debadged
Performance: Doctor Speed CAI / Glasspack Resonator
Coming Soon: Full TINT / GT-R / WAMS / STB

DC's G6 Progression!$#%
datacat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
Thanx for not banning me , I'm going to wait till the end of the month to get this along with the WAMS tune. I opted to get the Racingline Motor Mounts Street ver. I just want to see my current stats on the car and see the difference after the tune.
gface2k is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: dayton oh
Age: 42
Posts: 433
 
i seen those on ebay i thinking about getting one

05 G6


ipad mini install


Gametag psn=getonerd 360=geronerd
getonerd is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
Well I changed my mind since I have the cash for the dongle I purchased the PLX Kiwi bluetooth adapter. I'll post feed back as soon as I get it.
gface2k is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-05-2011, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
sounds good, I have a g6 gt and an epic 4g as well! hope it all works well

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-07-2011, 05:56 AM
Storm Trooper
 
Tupperware SC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Illinois
Age: 35
Posts: 323
 
Also notice on the side bar where the ads are... There is an ad for the OT-2 it is apple and android powered.
Tupperware SC2 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-07-2011, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
Just got my PLX Kiwi bluetooth adapter and tried it out with Torque. Awesome! I tried it on my work van (Chevy Astro Van) and on the G6. It has a lot of info and a nice integration with google maps when you export your logs. This is the developers page http://torque-bhp.com/ .
gface2k is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-11-2012, 12:48 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
 
Does the torgue app show a trans temp for the g6? I am thinking of getting a bluetooth obdII as well.
roadney is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-11-2012, 02:34 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
I've been trying, I can get oil temp. But both trans temps just sit at 32. So I guess it can't read it just yet. But with every update that comes out new functionality is available, hopefully soon I can read trans temps
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 01:19 PM
live life at redline
 
boostedirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermilion (Cleveleland), Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 25
 
how is the connectivity with the dongle you have? does it have any issues dropping communication with your phone?
boostedirl is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 02:11 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
I have absolutely no problems with my $25 adapter. Never drops or gives errors. But I still plan on getting the $200 one torque recommends.
Reason being is I think the cheap on I have is only so fast In sending data. The more expensive one is faster and better supported
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 05:02 PM
Legend
 
J dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 782
 
Garage
I have the $13 one off eBay and it works like a champ. Never drops signal or anything. And if the $200 one sends the signal a little faster it still isn't worth it to me. Mine reads everything I care for it to read and scans CEL codes and clears them if I wish. So good for me

Sent from my Desire HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App

J DOG

MODS
35% windshield, 10% all the way around, 20" Forte F55 Banshee's, custom painted interior, HVAC replace blue LEDS, PYLE double din dvd player, custom trunk with 2 12" Memphis-street edge subs, back up camera, blue LEDs under dash and dome, 2 blue strobe strips in trunk, tinted tails, blue LED reverse lights, debadged, front badge overlay, eyelids, 6000k lows/fogs, added oem projector fogs, third brake light overlay , shift boot added, blacked out grille, blue leds in grille, Canuck springs, BMD endlinks, res delete, R1 D/S rotors, blue calipers

Progression
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=10929
J dog is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 08:45 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Yea it offers faster transfer and is more secure. So only you or what you choose can connect to it. I want to get it so I can use it with my laptop via Bluetooth. Also mine won't work on fords it seems, the more expensive one supports more cars and such.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Powertrain Performance Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bolt torque fermenter Problems and Solutions 2 08-04-2010 12:22 PM
Torque Locking Jman0079 Problems and Solutions 3 07-31-2010 12:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome