Powdercoating rims - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2011, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

Powdercoating rims

Anyone know of anyone that has powder coated their factory rims? I really like my 5 spoke factory polished rims but want to get black rims. I don't want to go bigger, especially since I'd have to get new tires. What's eveyones views on powdercoating? Will I still get a nice gloss? Durablity?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:00 AM

you still get that nice gloss , and powdercoating last way longer than OEM/factory
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:19 AM
!

I heard that there are safety issues with powder coating rims. The high temps from the process can cause them to crack and fail, unless the process used is specifically designed for rims.

Just what I heard, I have no experience with the issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 02:53 PM
!

here's some info I found from a quick Google search, it turned up on the EVO forums...

he curing process for powder coating is typically between 350-450F. This extra heat cycle is extremely detrimental to the integrity of most cast aluminum alloys. They get brittle, crack, and snap when under heavy load, like what a wheel experiences. Most powder coating shops do not have the $100k equipment needed for controlled temperature increases and decreases and this is extremely stressful on the metal. A mass produced wheel will have it's original coating done and cured by such a machine, if it is even powder coated at all.

post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 02:56 PM

Wow, that would def. turn me off from getting them powder coated but i guess its just one person's experience...

2008 Pontiac Sedan - 3.5 V6

Mods so far: