strut tower bar installation-what a fxxxxxx day! - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wzbhnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
 
strut tower bar installation-what a fxxxxxx day!

well, it was suppose to be pretty easy.. until i dropped one of the nuts into the engine bay. then i went to canadian tire(biggest hardware store in canada) to find if there's a same one that i can buy. well, there were thousands of bolts and nuts. but NONE of them fits! what a fxxxxxx day!
wzbhnn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 08:17 PM
Da.v3
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Age: 32
Posts: 597
 
get a magnetic wand and a flash light!

Black 06 GTP Coupe

Performance: Full CRABs | RacingLine street MMIs + STB

Appearance: Tint - 35%r, 45%f | Tinted Alteza Tails | Black Halo Proj Eagle Eye Headlights |5000k HIDS in low and fogs w/ 100w hal in high | Red Leds under dash and behind grilles | White LED Interior Bulbs + Trunk, Plate | Bebadged w/ black overlays
Dav3 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wzbhnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
 
it is the driver side, a lot of things blocked my way. i will try my luck at dealer this weekend. hope a nut woudlnt cost me 20+.
wzbhnn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 07:02 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
dealership??? Do you know the size? Any hardware store will have it.
Less than a buck easy.

My G6 is still getting fixed so i dont have access to it or I'd tell ya what you need.
Prolly metric.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 07:03 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wzbhnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
 
it's 1/2 for sure. but i don't know the inner patern size of it.
wzbhnn is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 07:06 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I dunno about "for sure".....most of the nuts I run across here lately are Metric.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
The strut tower are #13 metric. The ground nut on the driver side is #10 metric.

I just changed out my strut tower mount this weekend and also drop one in the driver side, luckily the mount came with a new set so I have a few spares now.

I recommend you take one of the other nuts off and match the thread at your local hardware store.
gface2k is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wzbhnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gface2k View Post
The strut tower are #13 metric. The ground nut on the driver side is #10 metric.

I just changed out my strut tower mount this weekend and also drop one in the driver side, luckily the mount came with a new set so I have a few spares now.

I recommend you take one of the other nuts off and match the thread at your local hardware store.
a new set? god im jelous
can you tell me what #13 means? inner size or outer size?
wzbhnn is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wzbhnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
 
well, just got back from the dealer.. a damn nut cost me 10 bucks!
wzbhnn is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2011, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
Sorry it does seem kinda vague; Metric socket 13.

I like the magnetic wand idea. I dropped a nut inside the engine bay one time and drove the car for a week. The following week I found the nut was still resting on the lower control arm.

If you think about it, $10 for a nut thats a great deal

FYI the whole care is metric.
gface2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is There A Strut Bar For G6 puppyfang Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 83 07-30-2018 07:24 PM
Strut Tower Brace lapdancepants G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 38 03-22-2011 06:45 PM
Can you really tell the difference woth a strut tower bar? g6ForTheWin Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 19 03-06-2011 08:02 AM
Rear Strut Tower Brace?!?! lcplmouw Handle It! - Suspension, Wheel and Tire Modifications 15 02-10-2011 07:32 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome