Pillar Gauge Pods? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-06-2013, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
Pillar Gauge Pods?

Hey guys...was wondering if someone can direct me to a site, where I can buy some gauge pods with the plastic piece or inserts, you know like a Pillar gauges i guess they would be called idk lol .....I don't want it for looks or none of that, I'd just like it for maintenance reasons...to keep an eye, on my water temp, volts, air ratio, oil temp, trans temp, ETC. Doesn't have to be all of these but just the most important ones. I don't know if theirs a thread on this, just would like someone to direct me the right way
USMC0311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-07-2013, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Chad67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 536
 
I've been looking for the same myself, I can't find any A-pillar post mounts specifically for the G6, I've seen where one guy fiber glassed some in. The gauges themselves you get individually, I was thinking oil pressure and volts, maybe trans temp cause I have the factory temp anyway. Then I found this gauge http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_interceptor.html.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Chad67 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-07-2013, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
We're on the same boat lol...I've been searching as well and nothing on the mounts for the pillar...I've also seen where people make them as well, but the ones I've seen look messy and ugly...Now I know some gauges come with a style like bracket you can bolt onto your dash, I know for my civic i had a couple years ago, I had them bolted on to my dash which gave it a nice look, but I can't seem to find any for the G6...maybe I could use the same ones, who knows. But oil pressure, volts, and trans temp, would be nice to have. Those Aerofoce gauges are awesome, they display two at a time.
USMC0311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Chad67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 536
 
And mount in an A/C vent


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Chad67 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 11:45 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
I was planning on using individual cups on posts off the a-pillar
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
Individual mounts would work as well, i think it would look cleaner that way.
USMC0311 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
USMC0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
 
To CruisinG6: You're talking about this right? just buying the pods separately and bolting them onto the a-pillar correct? Cuz this is what i would like to do as well.

This is just a link to the pods themselves that you can buy with the brackets on them already.

http://www.jegs.com/p/Auto-Meter/Aut...45207/10002/-1
USMC0311 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 11:27 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Yea something similar to this:

Only I'm thinking different brackets for an even cleaner look.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Chad67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 536
 
I'm just wondering about the wires for those, where are you going to hide them?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Chad67 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 09:15 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
On the back of the individual pods there is usually a small hole for the wires to pass through, I plan to just run them through a black sheeth so I have a single black tube that comes out of the back of the cup, and then right into the a-pillar. So on the back of each gauge there will be one wire looking thing that just comes out, then right into the pillar. I figured it would look clean enough without getting ricey.

I tried to find pics but failed
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Chad67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 536
 
Sounds good, I'm doing oil pressure for sure, then volts. Are they hard to hook up on the engine side? (Oil pressure). May do tranny temp but can't think of anything else. Also looking at the Aeroforce pod that mounts in an a/c vent


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Chad67 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 04:14 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Most of the time you just have to connect a sensor somewhere. Volts is pretty easy. Oil temp/pressure may come with a spacer to put between the block and the filter for a place to grab readings from. Tranny is the same thing, mainly hook into the cooler lines somehow.

I haven't completely decided which gauges I want to run yet.
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Appearance Modifications and Lighting

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scratched post pillar HELP! chicagojoe12 Appearance Modifications and Lighting 0 03-27-2012 08:50 PM
C-pillar screws getonerd Problems and Solutions 0 12-04-2011 08:10 AM
Remove A-Pillar rickdarris2004 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 08-21-2011 10:08 PM
want to install an a pillar gauge pod becksmerc Appearance Modifications and Lighting 2 08-03-2011 09:21 AM
TRADE : G6 2 Gauge A-Pillar Tupperware SC2 Items for Sale 7 07-31-2011 07:33 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome