Help with subwoofer install - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

I have a 2009.5 g6 and I'm trying to install subs. The problem I am running into is I can't get my amp to turn on. I just received a planet audio 3000.1d amp in the mail and I have all the wires hooked up.

The battery wire is hooked up Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAG Free1360220369.465771.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	3771
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAG Free1360220383.049470.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	3772

The remote wire (I also tried connecting to the radio fuse...didn't work)
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAG Free1360220395.299528.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	3773

And the ground wire I attached to the top in the pre cut holes, I also wire brushed the holes to help with connection
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAG Free1360220506.015111.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	3774

I checked all the fuses I know of to it and they all look fine. I dunno what to do. Could it just be bad wires? Any help would be appreciated


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 03:04 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Re: Help with subwoofer install

Did you solder the wire to the battery post? And to the body in the trunk? Have you tried just touching the remote wire to anything powered to see if it clicks on?

If you have a volt meter I'd verify you have power getting back to the amp.

Those connections at the amp also look a little frayed. It could short out there.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

No I unfortunate don't have tools like that but I'm starting to think its the wires. They are kinda frayed so do I cut them and try to get to the fresh wire that's in there? Or if its shorted does that mean the while wire has gone bad? Ill pick up a dmm this evening


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

Unfortunately *


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 11:44 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
definetly cut them and get fresh wire. do you have an in line fuse between battery and amp?

you also need a better ground connection

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6

Last edited by waterfowler76; 02-07-2013 at 11:54 AM.
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

Ok I'll cut them all and find out. Yes I have an inline fuse on the power cable. Is it possible that the whole wire is shot? I guess a dmm will find out. Hopefully I can be spared running wires again. I think I may have bought a new amp for no reason now lol. I had a Rockford fosgate punch amp before and it just suddenly stopped working and I just always thought it was the amp. Lesson learned I guess. What are the odds that the whole wire is shot?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 01:05 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
That wiring is sketchy...

First get some proper terminals for your battery, ground and amp. Then test to make sure power is reaching the amp and finally test to see if you are getting power through the remote wire.

Id pick up one of these for your remote wire:



If you want to test the wire, do a continuity test to see if its still good.

Last edited by Dmanj; 02-07-2013 at 01:08 PM.
Dmanj is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

Oh yeah it is sketchy, sorry I forgot to mention that I'm simply just testing for power, because my original amp just stopped working even with the correct terms on. Ill pick that thing up, what is it called?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

Would you just suggest starting with fresh wire or just cutting it for the new wire inside the sleeve?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 01:38 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Aslong as the wire is long enough once you cut the frayed crap off I'd keep it. There's no point wasting money if the wire is still good.

That thing in the picture is called an add-a-circuit.
Dmanj is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

Ok awesome, I will try that first thing when I get home. Thank you for all the help!


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 08:03 PM
Junior Member
 
yodismike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Jefferson, OH
Posts: 8
 
Your ground is probably the cause of your problem. That ground wire needs screwed to the chassis. Your placement is fine as long its completely bare metal.
yodismike is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 08:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
 
The best way to test is to terminate your ends with a soldered ring terminal and hook everything up how it would be hooked up permanently, it will be just as easy to remove and it will all be done when you want to install everything. Do this with both your power wire and your ground wires.
rickdarris2004 is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
Help with subwoofer install

I'm heading to Wally World right now because I already cut fresh wire and hooked everything back up and still no signal, but I believe it's the power cable. Can you buy just a reg 8 to 0 gauge wire by itself? After test with the mm ill have a better understanding of where I am at.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 10:11 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
You can. Any audio shop should be able to sell you it by the foot. Just make sure your power and ground are the same gauge.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with subwoofer amp floogen Off-Topics 4 03-09-2013 10:11 PM
Subwoofer trouble AlmostEvil Car Audio, Video and Security 7 10-11-2010 03:41 PM
Install Subwoofer Myself.. blackgxp Car Audio, Video and Security 11 07-28-2010 10:09 AM
Want to put in a subwoofer Ryancoll7 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 05-04-2010 03:10 PM
Subwoofer recommendations 05blackg6gt Car Audio, Video and Security 7 03-10-2010 10:33 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome