Want a new radio but wanna keep info like oil life, tempeture, wash fluid etc.. - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 42
 
Want a new radio but wanna keep info like oil life, tempeture, wash fluid etc..

Is this possible? And if so what's a good cheap stereo to install in a 05 g6. Thanks
festy1986 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 05:09 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
if you want an aftermarket stereo youll need the metra kit. just search there is alot of info in the audio forum.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 05:40 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Re: Want a new radio but wanna keep info like oil life, tempeture, wash fluid etc..

There really needs to be a sticky about this...
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 08:30 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,022
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
Yes there does.
When I get a chance ill have to write a good one and find some pics of it mounted in glove box, and center counsel.

.....That is unless someone beats me to it

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 42
 
Will my alpine cde 121 fit without having to buy anything extra? Seems to me spending 140 for this kit is exceptionally expensive for something that is the radio. eBay is selling oem radios for the same price that will keep the information for you.

Like I said in an other thread, I bought te same model oem as the one I own and to by pass the unlock by gm i just switched the face plates of the new working stereo and put it on the radio installed in my car. It works but its too dim and doesn't adjust accordingly with the rest of the dash board. I don't know if its cause I switched the parts around, if its a warning of some sort of if the radio I bought simply just isn't that good.

Ironically the LCD brightens if the headlights are off but becomes less readable
festy1986 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-2013, 08:37 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
It may be expensive, but if you want an aftermarket stereo and want to keep the DIC, it's the way you have to go.

I'll write something up for this, if you guys want to add anything, let me know.

Last edited by Dmanj; 02-15-2013 at 08:41 PM.
Dmanj is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
JJBoxer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 50
 
Dmanj

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmanj View Post
It may be expensive, but if you want an aftermarket stereo and want to keep the DIC, it's the way you have to go.

I'll write something up for this, if you guys want to add anything, let me know.
Dmanj you can use my pics what the Metra 95-3303b looks like installed in my glove box if you like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DIC box.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	7722  
JJBoxer1 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2014, 12:37 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Thanks, but I never really got around to writing up anything. Just didn't have the time.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power steering fluid, how to check/add fluid?? 360ci General Maintenance 5 04-22-2011 11:14 AM
I wanna Mod my steering hotrodneb Powertrain Performance Modifications 2 02-13-2011 10:33 PM
wiring info for 2005-2007 g6 sound system..and oh yeah was the info for my 2008 also bubbashrimp Car Audio, Video and Security 8 05-23-2010 09:50 PM
Wash and wax, sure i'll do it. 08 WP tC Members' Rides 12 05-06-2010 08:34 PM
I wanna know something bigpoppad1928 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 3 01-09-2009 05:32 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome