aftermarket HU wiring question - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
2005gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 27
Posts: 21
 
aftermarket HU wiring question

ok so ive been looking around and putting a list of parts togeather to do a full on sterio system swap(currently monsoon 6-disk).
i dont care about the dic at this point so my plan is to wire a new DD with this harness
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...a-70-2103.html
and use a d class mono amp for a single sub. all of this i think i have covered. my question is how do you re-wire the speakers to run off of the amp in the HU, obviously they are currently running off of the monsoon amp in the trunk. I realize im going to have to cut a bit of the harness, but thats no biggie.
id also rather not fool around with adaptors or anything, unless noone has ever had a problem with them...
thank you for any help
2005gt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 06:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
 
I have a 2009 Base 4-door, without the Monsoon. I just put in a Sony CDX-GT660UP, and I used this kit... http://www.crutchfield.com/p_1209933...-3303&skipvs=T . I got that one cuz I do like having the DIC, and since I bought the HU and kit from Crutchfield, I paid half price for the Metra kit. There is a factory amp in the rear deck, but it attaches only to the rear 6X9's. The front 6.5 components run off something built in the stock HU. My kit above, or the kit you linked, should just hook up and go. Nothing but the kit wires and the Sony wires had to be connected (I soldered the wires), then plug and play to the car harness connections. Be sure to get the Motorola antenna adapter too. Crutchfield shows both our year cars use all the same install-kits and accessories. So the answer to your question...."how do you re-wire the speakers to run off of the amp in the HU"....all you need to do is connect the harness and it all connects to where it needs to go. No cutting of the car harness necessary. The new HU power will be super clean compared to the stock HU, and even though that new power will also go thru the car's amp as well, it will still be much cleaner and clearer and louder than what you are used to. At least it was a huge improvement in my car. I also replaced the speakers though....with Precision Power components and JL 6X9's. Good tip. ;O) Good luck!

Last edited by 09usnyg6i4; 03-08-2013 at 06:40 PM.
09usnyg6i4 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-10-2013, 11:10 AM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Here's your list:

-Headunit
-Speakers
-Sub + Amp
-Amp kit
-Wiring harness
-Dashkit (Metra 95-3302)
-Antenna adapter (Metra 40-GM10)
-Steering wheel control module (optional)

For wiring the speakers, I would suggest running all new wiring since the stock wiring runs to the factory amp from the radio. It will be less of a pain to just run new wiring. For the front doors, though I would tap into the stock wiring to get through the molex so that you dont have to cut into it.

Also since you dont state that you are going to, you need to replace the factory speakers. The factory monsoon speakers are 2ohm and the headunit likely have a minimum impedance of 4ohm meaning that it will become unstable at 2ohm and you will ruin the internal amp of the headunit.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
2005gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 27
Posts: 21
 
[QUOTE=09usnyg6i4;105491]So the answer to your question...."how do you re-wire the speakers to run off of the amp in the HU"....all you need to do is connect the harness and it all connects to where it needs to go. No cutting of the car harness necessary. QUOTE]

thanks for the reply, but i think we may be a little different if you dont have the monsoon. how do you like your new HU? im still undecided
2005gt is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
2005gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 27
Posts: 21
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmanj View Post
Here's your list:


For wiring the speakers, I would suggest running all new wiring since the stock wiring runs to the factory amp from the radio. It will be less of a pain to just run new wiring. For the front doors, though I would tap into the stock wiring to get through the molex so that you dont have to cut into it.

.
yeah i figured i needed new speakers too. but basically using wires that are already ran through the car as the new speaker wires?
how did you do your setup?
2005gt is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 11:29 AM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
I actually had the non monsoon system in my car, but I replaced everything.

Installed a DDIN headunit using the Metra DIC kit, Ran RCAs back to the trunk for my 4 channel and mono channel amps.

Ran all new wiring from the amps to my speakers and sub.


However, as I said in my post, the monsoon system has an amplifier between the headunit and speakers, so if you plan on bypassing that then you will want to run all new wiring.

From what I have read, people have been getting subpar results from using the monsoon amp with an aftermarket headunit.
Dmanj is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
2005gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 27
Posts: 21
 
ok, thanks for the help. im starting to think it would be worth the money to just get a 5 or 6 channel amp and run the speakers and sub off it. or just a second amp
2005gt is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 07:25 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Depends on the power you want. 5 channels tend to have limited mono and stereo channel power. If you want to run alot of power, you're better off with separate amps.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double din wiring question. J dog Car Audio, Video and Security 7 04-15-2012 09:09 AM
Wiring aftermarket seat heater uihockey2 Problems and Solutions 4 12-31-2010 05:47 PM
aftermarket wiring harness robbbb Car Audio, Video and Security 1 08-22-2010 05:20 PM
Wiring Harness and Sub Question RyanGSP Car Audio, Video and Security 3 03-21-2009 12:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome