Dealership programming? - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
Dealership programming?

I've been looking for a new radio for my car because I want a aux jack and a different interface, but I like the factory radios for some reason. I have a 06 G6 looking for a 09 model head unit. So I did my research found one on eBay for about 70 bucks but before I bought it I wanted to see if the dealership would actually program it for me. They ended up saying no giving me what sounded like a bs excuse. Has anyone else ran into this problem or is it just me? If so is there anywhere else I could get it programmed.

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: dayton oh
Age: 41
Posts: 433
 
well it sounds like bs any gm dealer should be able to do it or find some one with a tech-2 programer

05 G6


ipad mini install


Gametag psn=getonerd 360=geronerd
getonerd is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 07:24 AM
G6ADDICT
 
redbullADDICT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 416
 
Garage
i think i read somewhere that the new style HU dont work in our older style G6s. i could be wrong so dont quote me on that
redbullADDICT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 04:58 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Re: Dealership programming?

2009.5 and 2010 G6s have a head unit with out the DIC (Driver info center) beause its built into the speedo. I have an 09 with the dic in the stereo like yours. You can buy a headunit like mine. It has an AUX right in the front. But these OEM radios only last so long.
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 09:46 PM
G6ADDICT
 
redbullADDICT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 416
 
Garage
not to hijack the thread but I can buy a HU with an aux jack and put it in my 05 GT? I wish I would have know that! I must have read that thread I was talking about wrong cuz I could have sworn it said new HUs were diferent and wouldn't hook up to the older cars. im totally getting one now lol
redbullADDICT is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 09:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
Re: Dealership programming?

I actually went in again today and they said they could do it, but as long as i install it myself. But the downfall is if it doesn't work that's your money down the drain.

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 10:12 PM
G6ADDICT
 
redbullADDICT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 416
 
Garage
true that, but id trust cruising6s word. hes been around a g6 a few times.
redbullADDICT is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 10:25 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
Re: Dealership programming?

Thanks! But yea you can't put the newest OEM stereo in. But there are other G6 stereos that will work for your year that have an aux and CD changer and all that stuff
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
Re: Dealership programming?

Do you know what year would work? I we looking at a 09 model.

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 08:53 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,019
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
as long as its the same style as yours it will work. the newer one has the one big button in the middle.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
*Update* instead of buying a 09 model I got a 08 Saturn vue one. Only because the led is red. And picked up a wiring harness for it. I also went back to the dealer and they told me, as long as they don't have to install it and the wires are connected they could program it. The hu isn't installed yet but ill upload pics and keep the updates coming

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 03:59 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
You mean this one?

Dmanj is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
Yup

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 27
Posts: 20
 
Hopefully it works

-Al
aljhayes is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 04:28 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Good luck. That's the one they were talking about above. I don't know if anyone has successfully gotten one to work yet.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
programming replacement key fob ruthie2714 Problems and Solutions 17 05-16-2016 11:36 PM
Programming key fobs on 2008 G6? KC10Chief General Maintenance 2 10-18-2012 10:39 PM
Programming Remote Drums101 Problems and Solutions 5 08-27-2012 09:43 PM
Keyless Remote Programming rustyk49 Problems and Solutions 7 04-24-2012 11:21 AM
Programming remote for '05 GoWilkes Problems and Solutions 2 07-01-2008 08:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome