Sub and stock system - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-30-2013, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Platinum Member
 
Jonah52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 51
 
Sub and stock system

Is there an easy way to wire a sub into the stock system? I don't want crazy bass just a mild amount. It's 12" single sub in a sealed box

2007 G6 GT: 20% tint, de-badged doors and trunk, Emblem overlays, Recessed lower grills, 6000k Low HID's, LED interior and reverse lights.
Jonah52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-30-2013, 01:22 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Easiest way is to get a LOC (line out converter) and tap into your rear speakers, then just run your RCAs from it to your amp.

Or if your amp has speaker level inputs, then you can just use wire to tap off the rear speakers directly to your amp.

For your remote signal, find a fuse in the center console that is only powered when the car is on (should say "ignition" blow the fuse on the diagram) get an add-a-circuit and use that to get your remote signal.

The rest is just running your power and ground and setting up the amplifier.

Remember to keep your inline fuse within 12" of your battery!
Dmanj is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-30-2013, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Platinum Member
 
Jonah52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 51
 
I'm using the stock monsoon stuff. I know nothing about wiring. Can you dumb it down lol

2007 G6 GT: 20% tint, de-badged doors and trunk, Emblem overlays, Recessed lower grills, 6000k Low HID's, LED interior and reverse lights.
Jonah52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-30-2013, 11:36 PM
Member
 
CodeBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, Ont
Posts: 42
 
he basicly did lol, if you go to a local sound shop they will have a line converter, one end will have wires that you connect to your rear speakers in the trunk. the other side will have rca imputs (right and left) so from that plug your rca wires in then to your amp. after that you just have to run your ground wire for the amp as well as the main 12v wire. then run another remote wire ither to a switch or to a fuse that will be on with the car ( i put it to a switch and include a fuse on the line.)
CodeBlack is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-31-2013, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: temecula, ca
Posts: 75
 
i would recommend just installing a HU , it will give you better sound and make things a bit easier, in my opinion. if you dont want to pay allot for the harness you can look up this product
Scosche Gm1593B 2004 & Up Gm Lan Interface Stereo Installation Kit
barajas760 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2013, 02:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 37
 
I know I'm new here, but I have an 06 GT with the monsoon, now I could be missing something here, but if an amp has high and low level imputs... The way I understand it is that the deck feeds low level to the monsoon amplifier, now why couldn't you take the wires going into the monsoon, and use those as low level, and the lines out of the monsoon to the speakers as what connects to the amp, then with a 4ch amp, you'd bypass the monsoon part of it and use an electronic crossover or splitters and feed a 4 ch amp, and a 1-2 ch amp for a sub. Then the crossover or built in crossover could feed the regular speakers and that's it. Basically powering the 1 4ch amp with a power wires, and all the rest of the in and out is run off what's already been wired into the car.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
bsb2001ca is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2013, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
mshinall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NoVA
Posts: 636
 
Good point. I used a LOC on the monsoon amp outs to feed my sub amp. Can't remember why I did it that way but your comment has inspired me to revisit the install. One problem I notice about using the monsoon outs is that the volume on my sub amp doesn't appear to parallel the volume with the rest of the system. Lower volume has higher bass, higher volume has higher mid and highs. I often end up turning the volume up to level it out. I think I really need to revisit this.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

2009 Techno Gray Metallic G6 GXP Sedan (3.6L Auto6 112K miles)
---
CRAB Intake Opt 3 w/FPU, Lloyds GXP floor mats, HIDs low 6000k 55w/fog 3000k 35w, LED DRLs behind lower grills, V3 Triton LED turn signal/reverse/brake, LED side markers/maps/dome/tag/trunk/high mount stop, 2 coats niteshades on tails, Tint 35% all around, Debadged (except arrows), PAC IPod and BT adapters, PowerStop D/S rotors and ceramic pads, Resonator repl w/24" cherry bomb, Racingline STB, Big 3 Upgrade, Optima Yellowtop D75/25, Blacked out arrows, chrome window trim and black dipped wheels, KYB struts and shocks, CM lowering springs, Cherry Bomb Vortex Crossflow muffler, 2.5" pipe from axle back, two 4" stainless double walled slant tips
...still working...
mshinall is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2013, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
happy56owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 174
 
its touchy to put the sub on the stock system. i have the MEtra Turbo2 kit for my car with a new radio. i suggest doing that and plugging your sub to an amp with a new radio :P

2008 Black Pontiac G6 4Dr 3.5L
Mods:
Interior Underdash Red LEDs, Chrome 3.5in Muffler Tip, Red Painted Battery and Engine Covers, 17" Touren Wheels , 55W 6000k HIDs, Racingline Strut Tower Bar, CCFL Eagle Eyes, Magnaflow Catback, AIT Racing Bodykit, exhaust resonator removed, plastidipped interior, kicker front speakers, JVC rear speakers, pionner radio with METRA turbo2 kit, 1000w Pioneer sub with 1000W alpine amp, 93 WAMS tune, cold air intake, NGK plugs and wires, R1Concepts Rotors + pads.
happy56owner is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2013, 02:49 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,026
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
ive been running the MTX RE-Q for a few years now, with the stock stereo. and Ive been very happy with it.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2013, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mshinall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NoVA
Posts: 636
 
Agreed happy56owner. Just haven't decided on a head unit yet.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

2009 Techno Gray Metallic G6 GXP Sedan (3.6L Auto6 112K miles)
---
CRAB Intake Opt 3 w/FPU, Lloyds GXP floor mats, HIDs low 6000k 55w/fog 3000k 35w, LED DRLs behind lower grills, V3 Triton LED turn signal/reverse/brake, LED side markers/maps/dome/tag/trunk/high mount stop, 2 coats niteshades on tails, Tint 35% all around, Debadged (except arrows), PAC IPod and BT adapters, PowerStop D/S rotors and ceramic pads, Resonator repl w/24" cherry bomb, Racingline STB, Big 3 Upgrade, Optima Yellowtop D75/25, Blacked out arrows, chrome window trim and black dipped wheels, KYB struts and shocks, CM lowering springs, Cherry Bomb Vortex Crossflow muffler, 2.5" pipe from axle back, two 4" stainless double walled slant tips
...still working...
mshinall is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-09-2013, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 37
 
Speaking of adding an amp to stock system, it looks like there's also two styles of amps and the way they wire it up, which is a waste of wire, when amps have been able to do all of this for many years, or even just with physical attachments to change up the sounds.
1 set up has just 4 wires in and 4 wires out and the 2 extra that go into the rear deck are just spliced.
The other has the front and rear tweeters as separate in's and outs. Like its tweet out from the head unit, and then tweet out of the receiver.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
bsb2001ca is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 37
 
Okay, so maybe what I said was a little confusing. Either way looking at the wiring schematics it's like the amp is powered via a relay. The amp fuse is only 25A, so then instead of rewriting the whole car, why could not use the imputs that are there already since the stock amp is already 200W, I have my own amp that's 200W that has a built in crossover, so that would get rid of the split speakers on the stock system and I could just run them as is provided they have a HF filter in them like every other regular 2/3 way speaker system has. Sure mo sub for now, but as is that should in theory make the cab sound 5 times better should it not?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
bsb2001ca is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-08-2013, 12:56 AM
Member
 
floogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 44
 
I went through this a few months ago....hopefully this helps. Let me know if you have any questions about it

https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=13199


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
floogen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: a ton of stock/ stock modified items headlight parts etc 6shift Items for Sale 4 06-18-2012 11:15 PM
Stock air box and stock headlights penelopeTHEg6 Items for Sale 2 05-21-2012 01:51 PM
how much can the stock system in a g6 handle? bmx4life733 Car Audio, Video and Security 3 01-25-2012 03:28 PM
Issue with XM in Stock Monsoon System JR989 Car Audio, Video and Security 3 09-09-2009 08:02 AM
My System ChromeG6 Car Audio, Video and Security 1 10-16-2008 05:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome