New Radio to play iPod - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2013, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
 
New Radio to play iPod

I have a 2006 g6 gt with the stock monsoon audio system like everyone else.. I bought an item called an iSimple that got installed and it went out after about 2 months so I got a new one and it recently did the same thing. Now I am looking to replace the radio for one with a USB or aux input. I know one of my options is to get an 09 version of the same exact unit, but what are my other options? Thanks for your help!
emsweller64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 85
 
I would get an aftermarket one, it will sound a lot better than the stock one since it has more power. Pretty much all of the aftermarket ones will have a usb or aux input. I personally like alpine products, because they are good quality but they are a little pricey. There are also a lot of cheaper brands, it all depends on how much you want to spend.
gumman1158 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 02:18 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
The difference in power of an aftermarket headunit compared to an OEM headunit is pretty much negligible. You're looking at maybe an extra 10Wrms per channel is will only amount to an extra 2-3db in output.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
 
i know it will be expensive to buy an aftermarket radio that fits.. if i get a double DIN radio, will I still need to buy a converter? or is that only for the single
DINs?
emsweller64 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 10:28 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
A converter for what? To mount the headunit? Both single and double din headunits need a mounting kit to mount them into the dash.
Dmanj is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
 
oh really? those get really expensive then.. do u which one would be best for 06?
emsweller64 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 07:06 AM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
Depends. For a ddin you need the metra 95-3302 and if you want to keep the dic, the metra 99-3303 aswell. Though the 99-3303 will have to be relocated to the glovebox or center console. For single dins use the metra 99-3303 if you want to keep the dic. I dont know the model number of the dash kit that doesnt have the dic, but metras website can tell you. It only gets expensive if you want to keep the dic, since you then have to buy the metra 99-3303
Dmanj is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
 
ok so if i decide I dont need the dic then what would I have to do for a new radio? either a double or single din... thanks for your help btw
emsweller64 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 04:56 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
For a double DIN:

-dash kit (metra 95-3302)
-wiring harness
-antenna adapter

for single DIN:

-dash kit
-wiring harness
-antenna adapter

I don't know any of the part numbers, but you can find those on metra's website.
Dmanj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to? Play ipod in 06 g6 coupe sdsbrookes Car Audio, Video and Security 8 06-23-2011 01:54 AM
using an ipod with factory radio asonofabeach69 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 02-26-2011 09:18 PM
What do I need, Ipod/gm radio dman1022 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 12-04-2010 05:56 AM
Stock G6 Radio Will Not Play Any MP3 CD's sd455ta Car Audio, Video and Security 2 06-09-2008 01:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome