Replacing Faceplate - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-19-2013, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
 
Replacing Faceplate

Does anybody know if you can replace the faceplate of the stereo with a newer models faceplate of the stock head unit and have it work. It is cheaper to buy just the faceplate but i dunno if you would need to get it programmed at the dealer if this were to happen. with the 07 head unit there is no aux.. so if i swapped it with a 08 faceplate there would be. As well the faceplate is about 130 cheaper than a whole headunit plus the cost of programming it
derock1985 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-20-2013, 01:00 PM
SUPER MEMBER
 
Dmanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,420
 
I doubt you can just replace the faceplate. The circuitry most likely isn't there to support the aux in. You can buy factory radios on ebay for under $100. I would just get one off there and have it programmed.
Dmanj is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-20-2013, 01:52 PM
Storm Trooper
 
Tupperware SC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Illinois
Age: 35
Posts: 323
 
Why would you spend cash on a stock radio? Get a double DIN radio with Nav and Video capabilities. I have had my AVID-D3 since 07 and I just watch movied and TV shows.... I dont even remember the last time I listened to the radio.
Tupperware SC2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-21-2013, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
 
We'll I want to keep the dic.. Without having to switch to the metra kit. I switched before and had a lot of problems so went back to the factory head unit. As we'll in living in canada I always had a problem with it not changing over to metric instead of imperial. And every so often my radio and metra kit would just turn off.. The only way to fix it would be to pull the fuse out and put it back in.. The fuse wouldn't actually blow.
derock1985 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Radiator eggbert55 Problems and Solutions 4 12-19-2012 05:03 PM
Removing 2009 Stock stereo faceplate salgod Problems and Solutions 5 03-28-2012 11:21 AM
2 Issues: Interior Lights and Temp control center console faceplate FlyG6 Problems and Solutions 4 12-10-2010 06:21 PM
Replacing G6 Pedals Drums101 Appearance Modifications and Lighting 4 12-06-2010 05:38 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome