Will a 2008 Radio (with front aux input) work in a 2007 G6? - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-05-2008, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
 
Will a 2008 Radio (with front aux input) work in a 2007 G6?

My brother has a 2007 G6 (single CD/base stereo system) and wants to upgrade to a 2008 single disc player with the aux input in the front of the radio for an MP3 player.

Will a 2008 single disc Radio (with front aux input) work in a 2007 G6?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
08G6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-16-2008, 09:38 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08G6 View Post
My brother has a 2007 G6 (single CD/base stereo system) and wants to upgrade to a 2008 single disc player with the aux input in the front of the radio for an MP3 player.

Will a 2008 single disc Radio (with front aux input) work in a 2007 G6?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
i'd say no ... i have a 2005 with a 6 disc cd changer and i wanted to put in a 6 disc cd changer from a 2008 GT with an aux input but when i took mine out it had only one terminal going to it ... and the antena of course ... and the GT had 2 terminals and the antena ... i tried to plug in whatever terminal fit ... it fit in but the stereo said "LOCKED" on it ... i called the dealer and he didn't tell me if it would work ... all he told me was "bring it up here and we'll have a look at it" he also said that you need a scan tool to unlock it ... now that extra terminal that my 05 didn't have had 4 wires in it ... i'm pretty sure those wires go on every speaker in the car so when you plug in your mp3 player in it sends singal directly to the speakers ... even if you do unlock the stereo i'm pretty sure the aux input won't work ...

i'm dreaming about a aux input too but i use this
http://cgi.ebay.com/IPOD-MONSTER-CAB...QQcmdZViewItem

tell your brother to give it a try ... he won't regret it ... i've had not troubles with it so far ... it sounds great ... like you're playing a cd ...
daygon is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-16-2008, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
oh and also ... if you ever do take out your stereo and you put it back in and it says "LOCKED" on it - don't panic ... the computer will recognize it after a few minutes and it will work fine ... i guess that's why you need a scan tool to unlock it ... the computer keeps all the information about the stereo in it so when you plug it back in it unlocks it by itself ... but when you plug in a stereo that's never been there before it doesn't know it so it would need to be reprogramed to regognize the new stereo and i'm pretty sure you old one wouldn't unlock by itself after that ... so ... plus it's like 60 bucks to unlock it
daygon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-18-2008, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
 
thanks for the response Daygon... I think my brother is just going to keep the radio set-up he has.
08G6 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 07:21 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
 
Is there anyone else that can confirm this having unlocked the stereo and also can confirm what the extra harness connector is for?
Elmerfuddo is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-12-2008, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
 
I did just swap my 07 G6 radio with the 2008 6 disc changer (with the aux input) in to my 07 base line g6 (1sv) . Radio works perfectlly. When I plugged it in I got the locked message so I had friend show up with a GM tech 2 to unlock the radio. All I needed was the VIN of the car the 08 radio came out of. I am not sure what the additional plug is for on the back of the 08 radio... I can only assume it is for things like steering wheel controls or on star, or some other option my base model did not come with.
071svg6 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-16-2008, 09:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
hmmmmm does the aux input work?
daygon is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 06:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
 
yea. everything works perfectly....
071svg6 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-23-2008, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
i just talked to the dealership today and they said that it's gonna cost me like $90 bucks to unlock the stereo ... so i might do a swap soon
daygon is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-23-2008, 12:36 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
 
you have the vin number of the car the 08 radio came out of right??
071svg6 is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-06-2008, 07:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
yeah i have it ... i have the car at the shop haha
daygon is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-14-2008, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
 
radio working??
071svg6 is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-19-2008, 05:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
not yet but i'm gonna do it sometime this week ... or next week ... i'll post on here ... it's just the matter of time which i don't have much of ... but i really wanna do it ... my friend got me a deal to unlock a stereo for $45 ... so that's pretty good comparing to $90 that they originaly wanted
daygon is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2008, 03:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
 
yeah so i did the swap yesturday morning ... unlocked the stereo and saw that it was a single cd player with aux input not a 6 disk cd changer with aux import ... and it sounded like crap ... my old 6 disc changer sounds like a beast ... and the aux input worked really quite ... so i put my old radio back on cuz i couldn't take the crappy sound ... i'll have to find a 6 disk cd changer with aux input and put it on ... so i basicaly flushed $46 bucks down the toilet
daygon is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-30-2010, 11:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
 
It might work. I have seen the older version aux are compatible with the newer version. I feel you should check the manual before buying or using it.
gaush007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New G6 Owner here, First thread! Stabbin_G6 New Member Introductions 10 04-12-2011 11:59 AM
Official G6 Convertible Pics xtremegrandam G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 4 01-05-2005 05:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome