adding amp and subs to 06 G6 - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 110 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
 
adding amp and subs to 06 G6

i have tried to read as many threads as i could lol...but the answers i am looking for werent very clear to me.....how would i go about adding a 2 channel rockford amp to power 2 10"subs?..i wanna keep the stock deck, but just add some bass......i have read about the remote wire hook up, just not quite sure about the inputs for the amp itself.....being RCA jacks on the amp, is there a way to add this to the monsoon system?....thanks for any and all help!
willy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 110 (permalink) Old 03-06-2008, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
 
no one knows how lol?
willy is offline  
post #3 of 110 (permalink) Old 04-24-2008, 03:05 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
 
add a sub

it isnt hard at all 1st you need to get a converter to splice into your 6x9s speaker wire to rca, you can buy this at circuit city or and audio store, then just run your amp cables as normal. the only thing that you will have to find on your own is a remote wire, get a light tester and find something under the dash or on the left side of your trunk that only has power when the car is on. hope this helps

Last edited by adamk77; 04-24-2008 at 03:07 PM. Reason: add more detail
adamk77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 110 (permalink) Old 05-20-2008, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
 
These car manufacture's have improved factory sound but is still limited. And it all start's at the head unit. It made to protect your factory speaker's. So when you hook up an amp to the rear speaker's it's controlled through ur head unit and is highly influenced by the bass and treble controls. Your best bet is to purchase a sound processor. I bought the MTX re-Q and it's a miracle worker. Right now Crutchfield.com has it cheaper than when I bought it from there but it's the same one. Even though it's inexpensive it's really good. I'm used to have the big 12's and 15's but since I bought my 07 g6 I didn't want a huge box limiting my trunk space. So I bought the powered Visonic 12" sub that already come's in a box with an amp from walmart(yes walmart). It's only rated at 250 watts, but that's RMS power which is true power. I only have one cause my wife dosen't like the big bang but it's still a good choice especially hooked up to that sound processor and the woofer is only 50 buck's already installed in a nice box and the amp built into the box as well. You can very easily install two. You still need the wire coming from the batt. for each one but it's a good inexpensive to go.
whiteg6 is offline  
post #5 of 110 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 08:30 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
 
I just had tweeter install my kenwood amp and 2- 12" JL's I got in and couldnt figure out why the base was at like negative 6, then the sirius powered up and I found out why, unlike with my last 2 cars that the subs were in I decided to leave the factory head unit in this one. It sounds good, you just have to fool around witht he base, treble, mids, and f-r fade, as for which cables to use..... I get lucky that one of the girls I work with at the bar has a husband who installs at twetter, so I take it to him and he knocks a little off the price, plus its warranty work so if there is an issue I take it back to them.
Pippen33KU is offline  
post #6 of 110 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 07:27 AM
Junior Member
 
solosix4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: toronto
Age: 34
Posts: 8
 
what you need is a line out converter it hooks up into the + - terminals in one of the speakers in the trunk and then you hook up the rca's to the converter
solosix4 is offline  
post #7 of 110 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 02:26 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
 
amp

ok, i have a amp with the remote gain on it so i am not that worried about the head unit distorting it which it should not if i use the rca converter?
the one question i have is, does anyone know which wires off the back speakers are pos or neg.....i have not looked under there yet,,,,,,any help would be greatly appreciated.
Primus is offline  
post #8 of 110 (permalink) Old 12-30-2008, 11:57 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
Alright, I've put it all together and added a sub to my factory radio. This link shows you the pictures in steps. I've tied on to the car's power and high input to the amp. I've made a handy quick connect to take the sub out if needed. I added a capacitor to take the load off of the smaller power wire. sounds great. I've bridged the amp to put out about 200 watt. Remote wire is the small pink wire with the red wire tie to it. You can get the wiring diagram from crutchfields web site by searching for pontiac.
http://kevinandjamie.servegame.com/pictures/g6%20audio/

Last edited by maykevin5; 01-21-2011 at 09:15 AM.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #9 of 110 (permalink) Old 01-02-2009, 10:54 PM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
here's the website with the monsoon wiring diagram
http://www.crutchfield.com/app/Suppo...px?ifs=pontiac
maykevin5 is offline  
post #10 of 110 (permalink) Old 07-24-2009, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
 
I just put a sub in my car about 30 minutes ago.
The first thing you need is a Scosche Level Converter. You can get one of these at walmart for $18. Next you have to splice wires into your rear 6x9's and run them to the Level Converter. IT DOES NOT MATTER WHICH IS POSITIVE AND NEGATIVE! then you just hook up the amp and sub like normal. Except the remote wire. you have to hook this into a fuse. i used the Hvac Ignition one. its located on the right side of the center console. you just stuff the wire in one of the fuse holes and put the fuse back in.
16withaGT is offline  
post #11 of 110 (permalink) Old 09-03-2009, 01:07 PM
Dustin
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wee Town Arkansas!
Age: 31
Posts: 73
 
just put a solo l7 12 in a ported box in my trunk with a kicker 1200 watt mono amp... so much bass... lol... only prob is now my fm stereo will only pick up local channels anything i used to pick up is now static does anyone know what i messed up by putting an amp in? oh yea i didnt pull the cd player out i used a line output converter

Last edited by newtog6s05model; 09-03-2009 at 01:09 PM.
newtog6s05model is offline  
post #12 of 110 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Macomb Michigan
Posts: 31
 
Um, I have two kicker L7 15's and a Planet Audio monoblock amp. could i get away with just wiring the amp up to a line converter ( Splice into the 6x9 output) or, would i be better off to just replace the whole head unit
nickya0721 is offline  
post #13 of 110 (permalink) Old 01-12-2010, 03:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
 
well you could change the deck but when you do you lose all ur d.i.c controls such as oil life rest and ext. you can buy a costly kit but yes just run the power wire as normal and then run the remote wire off a fuse in the fuse box that only comes on with the ignition and then the line output converter from ur 6x9s then run the rcas to the amp. its reall simple if you have any wiring question feel free to ask
Cjs8705 is offline  
post #14 of 110 (permalink) Old 01-15-2010, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Macomb Michigan
Posts: 31
 
okay thats what i was concerned about was the d.i.c controls. where can you get that kit you were talking about?
nickya0721 is offline  
post #15 of 110 (permalink) Old 02-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Heavy Modder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 30
Posts: 18
 
i have an 06 G6 GT with the Moonsoon, was wondering if there were indeed RCA jacks on the back of the head, and if not would it make a sound quality diff to use the adapter to splice into rear speaker wire?
GAME OVER IX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome