Adding Aux Input? - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2008, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
 
Adding Aux Input?

I have a 2006 G6 v6 which has the single cd head unit in it. I purchased a while back on ebay a Belkin Tunecast3 but it is really annoying when driving into different towns to find a station to play my Zune tunes without static :/ I was wondering if theres a way to simply add a Aux port somehow to the stock head so i can easily plug any mp3 playing device in there...

I don't have the monsoon system so I don't have the built in one.. if there was no easy way of going about this, would it be better to change out my stock ish for a monsoon system as if i bought it with that or should i just go aftermarket and get totally different equipment?

thanks
msmith0957 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-09-2008, 02:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
 
What jack

I have an 07 Convertible with the Monsoon. I wish there was a jack. Is this the only 07 built with a premium sound system that doesn't have one. I should have asked!
hmdarwin is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-09-2008, 02:52 PM
Lifetime Member
 
geewhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,269
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmdarwin View Post
I have an 07 Convertible with the Monsoon. I wish there was a jack. Is this the only 07 built with a premium sound system that doesn't have one. I should have asked!
Nope, I sure wish I had one!

and welcome to the club hmdarwin!




Mike
MODS;
None, if I want a faster car I'll buy one.

Last edited by geewhiz; 07-09-2008 at 02:55 PM.
geewhiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-09-2008, 10:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 36
 
I have a 2007 with the Monsoon and had iPod integration by AXXESS installed and it works great. I can connect an iPod or I can use the AUX and plug in any MP3 player. It's about $300 installed.
stealth_sergeant is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-10-2008, 07:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
 
Was that $300 4 the installation 2? And where did u get it installed?
G6/CHRIS is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 36
 
That was for both parts and labor...I had it done at a local car audio store. They didn't even carry anything for the G6 until I called them and told them about the AXXESS unit. They had the unit and required accessories in stock in a couple of weeks.
stealth_sergeant is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
 
Oh ok cool. How did they install it? Did they put it in the center console? And i looked 4 it on ebay but didnt really know what i was lookin 4, so is there a special cite that u found it on?
G6/CHRIS is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-12-2008, 01:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
 
picture of the finished product would be nice

i'm stil undecided as to whether i should get a similar kit with the stock (non monsoon) system, get an aftermarket radio w/ metra kit, or just get aftermarket radio and say goodbye to the gmlan bs
msmith0957 is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-12-2008, 04:34 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
 
Oh and whats this monsoon system? Does it come stock in all g6s? Thanks...
G6/CHRIS is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-12-2008, 11:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 36
 
The Monsoon system is the upgrade audio system and if I'm not mistaken is standard on GT and GTP models. The reason it's such a pain to find integration for the Monsoon is that the driver's information center (yes I said DIC) is integrated into the head unit and it's all that inbred technical fm (friggin magic). The AXXESS unit is mounted behind the dash near the head unit and the cord can be run to several locations like the glove box or the center console (mine comes out of the storage pod in front of the shifter). If you talk to a reputable shop they should either have it in stock or be able to get it easily.
stealth_sergeant is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-18-2008, 11:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
 
someone on G6performance modded his stock radio to add an aux input -
http://www.g6performance.com/phpBB3/...p?f=34&t=16068
adrenalnjunky is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-12-2008, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 106
 
so with using axxess, are you able to control the ipod through the radio? do title names/artists show on the radio?
I have the monsoon.
stephcorleone is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 09:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
 
There's also the iSimple kit for this, which I what I bought. It lets you connect (and control using the stereo and steering wheel) an iPod. It also has AUX input and supports an HD Radio receiver, too.

http://www.peripheralelectronics.com/
joeOnSunset is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-06-2008, 10:57 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
 
So will this radio on ebay with the aux input just plug and play? I am sure the dealer will have to program it but can I control the ipod from the steering wheel controls?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ponti...1%7C240%3A1318
ManiaG6 is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 08:45 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
You can not control your iPod from the steering controls by using the Aux.

Wish you could. That would be sweet.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding amp and subs to 06 G6 willy Car Audio, Video and Security 109 09-08-2011 12:17 PM
Will a 2008 Radio (with front aux input) work in a 2007 G6? 08G6 Car Audio, Video and Security 15 08-31-2010 10:54 AM
NEW CAI for the G6....need input LeakyZ Powertrain Performance Modifications 5 03-18-2008 10:13 PM
Audio Input for 2006 G6 amnesoid G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 2 03-20-2006 05:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome