Remote start answers - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-06-2008, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
 
Remote start answers

I just bought an 07 G6 V6 sedan. It did not have remote start and was not AP8 coded. It did however have the long range locking remotes. Dealer added remote start with no problems for $325. Had the remote lock kit in stock for $195, and cost $130 for reprogramming. Was told as long as you have the extended range remote option, it will work.

Rob
rcpepper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-06-2008, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 586
 
Was there a question in there?
Fusion is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-06-2008, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
 
Just trying to help out. I have been reading on the just about every gm forum it wouldn't work without being AP8 coded. But it does work if you have the extended range remote option it does. It even somewhere on here. The newer cars aren't AP8 coded, but remote start works anyway. Just trying to help some folks out that had questions.

Rob
rcpepper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 06:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
 
I have a 2007 Saturn Aura - pretty much the same car as a 3.5 V6 G6. How can I tell if I have the extended range remote option??

Thanks, -Dave


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpepper View Post
Just trying to help out. I have been reading on the just about every gm forum it wouldn't work without being AP8 coded. But it does work if you have the extended range remote option it does. It even somewhere on here. The newer cars aren't AP8 coded, but remote start works anyway. Just trying to help some folks out that had questions.

Rob
FastKat is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
 
You will have the new style GM remotes. Part number on my remotes was 15252034. These are the long range remotes.

Rob
rcpepper is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 09:45 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
 
Alright, thanks for the info!

-Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpepper View Post
You will have the new style GM remotes. Part number on my remotes was 15252034. These are the long range remotes.

Rob
FastKat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
won't start from the remote daygon Problems and Solutions 10 03-14-2011 03:29 PM
Remote start hiccups CharlesP2009 Problems and Solutions 3 09-09-2006 05:44 PM
Safe to leave the AC on for remote start? CharlesP2009 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 6 09-09-2006 04:01 AM
Remote Start Problem panda9996 Problems and Solutions 10 12-08-2005 09:27 PM
behavior of remote start briandors G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 4 06-16-2005 04:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome