A place to start with replacing stereo in '07 G6 - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-04-2008, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
A place to start with replacing stereo in '07 G6

So I'm loving my 07 SE.

Factory deck is base , no mp3, no XM, no 6 cd changer.
The sound is very impressive for a factory.

I took advantage of my extended warranty plan with GM and had the back speakers replaced *cough*made a funny sound*cough* need to be replaced *ahem*
So that's done, sounds great.

Thing is, no mp3 capability is killing me. Xm and 6 cd changer I can live without but I really like the info center stuff for mileage, temp and oil & trip stuff etc.

I've seen multiple posts that some say you CAN upgrade, some say not 100%.

What are the options available to me? I imagine if an upgrade is possible from GM that it might cost an arm and a leg right?

I also saw a post or two that mention installing an input for an ipod or mp3 player? What's the success rate on that? Feasibility / cost?

Sorry for all the n00b questions right off the hop, just wanna get my baby sounding the way I want it too

Thanks for any info or help!!
T
Temujin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 10:06 AM
^I R CUSTOM^
 
xgibbyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Romeoville, IL
Age: 40
Posts: 77
 
The only mod I have done is the RF set up for XM radio. I do want to change out my head unit, because like you, I can't stand not having MP3 playback.
xgibbyx is offline  
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 11:40 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
You can grab an 08 radio with the Aux and use your iPod with it.
All you need is access to a Tech2 to match it up to your car.

Dealerships can do this. I did it. I had XM already though (which is a seperate part in your trunk and the antenna...etc. So you wont have that without added parts.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
Oh wicked, that'll work. I have a friend at the GM dealership I bought the car from so even if I can't snag an 08 stereo from him, I can at least have his guys in the back install it if I can grab one online or from a wrecker or something.

Thanks!
Temujin is offline  
post #5 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 05:29 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
My pleasure....

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #6 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
Oh, one more question, do any of the '08 decks support mp3 already? or are they just standard decks?
Temujin is offline  
post #7 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 08:27 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
no MP3...but the 2009.5 looks like it has it.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #8 of 42 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 04:47 PM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
My 06 GTP with monsoon 6 disk changer has mp3 capability.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #9 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-29-2008, 09:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
So I finally got an 08 with the aux input into the 07 G6 w00t!

Question re: the aux cable to use for the ipod to the stereo.

I bought a 3.5 double male cable and the plug won't insert all the way into the stereo , IE: won't click in.
Did I just buy one with too fat a head? (wow this all could turn into a Freudian discussion huh?)

Anyways, are there different kinds? The Aux input is fairly recessed in the head unit. I'll head back to the store tomorrow to check for another one.

Anybody have a specific brand or model that's proven? Didn't think this would be an issue to be honest...

Last edited by Temujin; 12-29-2008 at 09:27 PM. Reason: typos
Temujin is offline  
post #10 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-29-2008, 11:34 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
All mine work just fine. Snap in great.

Got a 6 footer from Target in the car. Thats kinda long but they dont make a 3 footer
that I saw.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #11 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-30-2008, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
K thanks, will head back to the electronics store today. The plastic head on the jack is just a little too big I guess.

Do these stereos come with a manual as well, or would that be part of the 2008 G6 owners manual?
Temujin is offline  
post #12 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-30-2008, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temujin View Post
Do these stereos come with a manual as well, or would that be part of the 2008 G6 owners manual?
Disregard, found the site with manuals and the supplement for the 2008 g6
Temujin is offline  
post #13 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-30-2008, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
 
We're finally green light! Man, this took a long time but finally got it in there, and got the bigger display and a few extra audio options as well, like the msgs and ptype stuff, auto tune and auto tone.
Got the Xmas iPod in there and the G6 is golden!
Temujin is offline  
post #14 of 42 (permalink) Old 12-31-2008, 06:19 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I remember the day mine went in to. I was like -YEAH!!!!

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #15 of 42 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 08:24 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 32
 
why is it that all the dealers tell me that the 08 stereo is not compatible in the 07?
bigpoppad1928 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New G6 Owner here, First thread! Stabbin_G6 New Member Introductions 10 04-12-2011 11:59 AM
2009 G6 details chiefpontiac G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 3 06-06-2009 07:17 PM
G5 Stereo Unit - Mp3 Player option in G6 Stereo Unit (V)eGa Car Audio, Video and Security 5 05-07-2007 03:04 PM
'07 G6 GT Convertible Ordered....FINALLY!!! WolvesDen Members' Rides 2 06-10-2006 09:55 PM
Official G6 Convertible Pics xtremegrandam G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 4 01-05-2005 05:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome