using an ipod with factory radio - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-24-2008, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
 
using an ipod with factory radio

This may have come up before but is there a way to hook up an ipod to the factory radio in a G6 other then using one of those I-trip things. I mean is there a way to connect it on the rear of the radio (AUX input). Probably not but its worth a shot.
asonofabeach69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-25-2008, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
RedRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 174
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by asonofabeach69 View Post
This may have come up before but is there a way to hook up an ipod to the factory radio in a G6 other then using one of those I-trip things. I mean is there a way to connect it on the rear of the radio (AUX input). Probably not but its worth a shot.
Depending on which head unit your car has (newer ones have front aux inputs) it could be as easy as getting a double sided 3.5 headphone cable and plugging it in that way. But in my case since i don't have that head unit and really didn't want to mess with wiring and ripping out my stereo, I just got a relativley expensive fm transmitter that works really well with the car. And depending on how much money you want to spend, you could buy a whole head unit off eBay or something and replace your stereo with that one which has an aux jack...
RedRocket is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-26-2008, 08:12 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I think integrated solutions makes an adapter. It costs about the same as upgrading
your stereo to the 08+ model w/aux though.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-19-2009, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Devriesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middle-of-no-where, Alberta
Posts: 292
 
Post Solution: AUX Inputs

I know this thread is kinda old but I needed I place to share what I know about the subject. I was plagued with the same problems as most people when it comes to AUX inputs for the 2005 monsoon stereo or rather the lack of inputs. So I decided to go with the uPAC-GM11B Audio adapter and it was a very easy install. It was not difficult but time consuming because you have to take apart the lower dash to gain access to the back of the radio. however I followed the 'how to' instruction off the forum and it was simple. With this product you have full control of your iPod from your stereo and steering wheel controls. Also displays song/artist info on factory stereo DIN(or whatever the name of the screen is called). It can switch through the input using the 'Band' button.

It has:
-RCA right & left inputs
-3.5mm input
-Ipod connect input jack

In retrospect it may not have been the cheapest solution but it certainly sounds good. I will always encourage people to do their research though as you might find something better.


Black 2005 Pontiac G6 GT: (SOLD)
Mods: uPAC-GM11B Aux Input, red painted calipers, Black Arrowhead overlays, and CRAB Intakes.
Orange 1971 Ford F-100 Sport Custom:
Completely Stock -302ci
Silver 2010 GMC Sierra GFX edition: (SOLD)
Stock
Granite 2015 Chrysler 200c
Stock
Devriesd is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-18-2009, 12:48 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
 
Will the uPAC-GM11B work with the single disc Monsoon stereo?
sakelly is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2010, 07:34 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
got mine ordered. $104.00 can't wait. According to the instructions, If you have a XM button "or" a BAND button it will work.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 09:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
 
Cords

Where did you put the box and the cords? Can you upload some pics please?
mccaulke is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
 
For the longest my solution to this was to cut the XM radio input and hard wire a headphone jack in its place. This pass week I ponder turning on my XM radio on again so I installed a DPDT switch and mounted it in the top part of the cubby next to the cigarette lighter port. Now when the radio is in the XM band I can switch over to the headphone jack to listen to my Samsung Epic whenever I want.

Might not be the cleanest install but I refuse to pay $100 to get an AUX input when I can do it for under $10. I'll post a how to when I finish putting everything together.
gface2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome