Aftermarket radios & unlocking via Pontiac Dealership... - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 06:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
 
Question Aftermarket radios & unlocking via Pontiac Dealership...

Hi,

Just joined the forum, happy to see so much support online

Here's where I need help: I just bought a used 2007 G6 yesterday, and it has the stock radio with the Driver information Panel. I want to change my radio deck to an aftermarket one with bells and whistles.

I've read the threads on how you have to get the Metra 95-3302 and Metra 99-3303 if you want to keep the DIC in your car, along with an antenna adapter. But I also keep hearing about how certain users have to go to Pontiac dealership to "unlock" their radio so that their new deck can work with their car. But I'm not sure if this only applies to the factory radios that Pontiac sells only, or just ANY radio, be it a Pontiac factory radio or an aftermarket radio you install.

So my question is, do I HAVE to go to the Pontiac dealership to have the car reprogrammed to make an aftermarket radio work with my car, or does this only apply to Pontiac brand radios that you install?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
g6Muncher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 07:27 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Only stockers need the Tech2 at the stealership to marry them to your car.
No need for the Tech2 on aftermarket.

Clear as mud??

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
 
Crystal clear indeed. Thanks Lampoon!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lampoon View Post
Only stockers need the Tech2 at the stealership to marry them to your car.
No need for the Tech2 on aftermarket.

Clear as mud??
g6Muncher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 01:32 PM
I own a silver G6!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DE
Age: 32
Posts: 48
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lampoon View Post
Only stockers need the Tech2 at the stealership to marry them to your car.
No need for the Tech2 on aftermarket.

Clear as mud??
Stealership? is that supposed to be a play on words, Lampoon? lol
SilverG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Pontiac going the way of the Doo doo? satfree91 Auto News and Rumors 6 12-06-2008 07:03 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome