help with stereo - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
 
Exclamation help with stereo

Ok so this is my first time in forum. HI to Every one. i have a lil problem with my stereo. i have an 05 Pontiac GT G6. well my battery drain out and the car would not start. so i recharged it using connectors with another car. well when it finaly came back to life the stereo started doing this craking noise. i had 6 cds incerted in the stereo but the stereo shows non. every time i press the load key i here the beep but it wont take any cd in. but it wont eject either it says no cd lol. so i remove the fuse and what happen bam locked!!! so i try to remove and put back on the fuse and the locked screen went away but i still cant put cds or take them out. and it looks like a wite bar is covering the cd entrance. radio still works but is there a way to fix this with out going to dealership.. sorry if eany miss spell words.
BIRDSHOCK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 06:48 PM
Lifetime Member
 
geewhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,269
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIRDSHOCK View Post
Ok so this is my first time in forum. HI to Every one. i have a lil problem with my stereo. i have an 05 Pontiac GT G6. well my battery drain out and the car would not start. so i recharged it using connectors with another car. well when it finaly came back to life the stereo started doing this craking noise. i had 6 cds incerted in the stereo but the stereo shows non. every time i press the load key i here the beep but it wont take any cd in. but it wont eject either it says no cd lol. so i remove the fuse and what happen bam locked!!! so i try to remove and put back on the fuse and the locked screen went away but i still cant put cds or take them out. and it looks like a wite bar is covering the cd entrance. radio still works but is there a way to fix this with out going to dealership.. sorry if eany miss spell words.
Welcome to the club!
You say you tried to remove^^^^, remove what?

Oh amd misspeeled worsd or my speshalty




Mike
MODS;
None, if I want a faster car I'll buy one.
geewhiz is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
 
you say you tried to remove^^^^, remove what?


so i try to remove and put back on the fuse

sorry misplace words. i meant to say i remove the fuse and put it back on.
BIRDSHOCK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 08:23 PM
` Colleen =)
 
cmurphy725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dela-where?
Age: 31
Posts: 123
 
Send a message via AIM to cmurphy725
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIRDSHOCK View Post
you say you tried to remove^^^^, remove what?


so i try to remove and put back on the fuse

sorry misplace words. i meant to say i remove the fuse and put it back on.
Why dont you want to take it to the dealership, is your car not under warranty anymore? Your radio may have taken a crap. I've seen a few repair orders with a few G6's that have done the same thing before.
cmurphy725 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2009, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmurphy725 View Post
Why dont you want to take it to the dealership, is your car not under warranty anymore? Your radio may have taken a crap. I've seen a few repair orders with a few G6's that have done the same thing before.
I bought the car in 2004 and it only has 3 year warranty so yeah its prity much over i just think its going to be to s pensive to repair in dealership.
BIRDSHOCK is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-05-2009, 08:52 AM
` Colleen =)
 
cmurphy725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dela-where?
Age: 31
Posts: 123
 
Send a message via AIM to cmurphy725
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIRDSHOCK View Post
I bought the car in 2004 and it only has 3 year warranty so yeah its prity much over i just think its going to be to s pensive to repair in dealership.
The only wau to fix it is probably to get a new radio. That is usually what they do.
cmurphy725 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-05-2009, 09:02 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
Wink

you bought the 2005 in 2004?

Yeah....I would disconnect the battery and see what happens.
My 05 cd changer didnt last every long either.

I bought an 08 to replace it so I could have the aux. I also bought the
single cd one so I wouldnt have changer issues again. With the aux I can
iPod it so I dont need all the disks anyways.

Installed it myself then took it to the dealer for some Tech2 (laptop) time to
program it to the car. Been working great ever since.

Cost me $256 shipped for the radio and $80 at teh dealership. I found out later another dealership was less than half that price so shop around for Tech2 time at the different dealerships cause they charge differently.

Anyway....Im happy. The dealership learned something too. They said it couldnt be done. I proved them wrong.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: Get at your stereo TLS2000 Car Audio, Video and Security 17 04-12-2013 01:15 PM
can I replace my 06 factory stereo for an 08 factory stereo? zackb453 Car Audio, Video and Security 22 03-15-2009 08:32 AM
G5 Stereo Unit - Mp3 Player option in G6 Stereo Unit (V)eGa Car Audio, Video and Security 5 05-07-2007 03:04 PM
MP3 stereo the doors lock Car Audio, Video and Security 25 11-13-2005 06:43 PM
Stereo - Line output Converter SBMG6GT Problems and Solutions 10 05-06-2005 05:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome